Replacing broken shoelaces with 275 paracord

Usually when I wear out my shoes it happens to be on the front toe area, but it would seem these boots had some bad laces. Before even wearing out the normal areas of the shoes my laces have given out. Just a few months of owning them the sleeve has separated from the laces. In the past I have restrung my shoes using paracord, and figured I would give it a try again.

Survivalists are into using paracord in their laces, so if need be you can take some out to string up needed items in camp. You can even just remove single strands and keep your laces intact. Its worth it as each strand is capable of holding a lot of weight. So its fun to think about, though I not ever expect to take my laces off to use them for survival.

We can see how the string is bear, I guess I could have just cut the sleeve off but I think just replacing them they should last longer.

I would have had to undo most of the laces to fix it. So just made sense to replace it.

Getting started I do one shoe at a time, that way I can reference the way the string needs to be strung.

A few minutes later its mostly strung up, soon its time to tighten up the laces and measure to cut them to size.

I put the shoe on and get it nicely fit. And then I pull the strings at the bottom first and slowly do that all the way up till its all tight.

Once cut I need to burn the ends of these cords so they do not start fraying.

I can toss these old strings, such a shame they barely last a few months. But the shoes themselves are holding up well so I think its a worthy investment redoing the laces.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now