@polebird: Baby surfer for the #surfcommunity - Gentle Waves

It was alway my dream since I was little to surf, and so I think it's way neat to be welcomed as a baby n00b surfer into the #surfcommunity project started by @surfermarley! Check out her post here . I honestly only get to attempt surfing maybe once or twice a year if I'm lucky, and the first time I surfed ever was about three years ago. One of the first opportunities I had to surf was during my trip to Hawaii on sunny Waikiki Beach.

IMG_3988.jpg

I signed up for a lesson with my friends. After a brief 15 minute lesson on land with the instructor where he taught us how to paddle and stand, we were off to the ocean. The beginner boards we given for the lesson are longer boards made of foam.

IMG_3976.jpg

IMG_3980.jpg

I truly believe this was the ideal place for me to learn! I was worried that I wouldn't be able to stand or balance, but the gentle waves on the beach were not too bad or choppy, so it wasn't too much of an ordeal to get up on the board. In fact, in the past I have seen that there is a sweet little pig and also a one eyed little kitty named Kuli who have surfed the gentle waves of Waikki. Gave me hope that maybe I could do it too as a newbie. :D I really hoped to see them out on the waves, but no they weren't out there, although I looked for them. By the end of the lesson, I even dared to make a few 180 degree jumps on the board (not much air tho).

IMG_4151.jpg

Needless to say, I loved it as much as I thought I would. Really cool, a dream come true to have a chance to surf.

IMG_4027 2.jpg

Thanks for reading my friends! Hope I get to head back to waves soon! I will be writing another post as well about trying to surf slightly rougher waves, stay tuned! 😅😅

surf.gif

Love,
Jess

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center