#SublimeSunday - Gardening and Good Stuff


IMG_7453a.jpg

This post is for #SublimeSunday is inspired by @c0ff33a and #BeautifulSunday is initiated by @ace108 dedicated to all those iphone photographers that love their garden!

This week, it was dry heat to ring in June and a mercifully warm Sunday!

"image.png"


IMG_7448.jpg

It was time for a leisurely stroll through the nursery / garden store to see what's on sale! I never seem to be in a hurry when I am here and am overwhelmed by the variety of everything I would like at home. Today it was 50% off remaining garden veggie plants and I was looking for bargains on annuals to fill our the planters.

"image.png"


IMG_7454.jpg

I let the family plant the cucumber seeds this year and they didn't seem to sprout in the last couple weeks. So, I grabbed another pack of Home Made Pickles variety, cleared out a few morning glories, and planted them in front of the metal trellis that worked so well last year for the cucumbers. A nice sunny spot that with added compost and black earth and my namesake at stake so I will see what I can do. Will the Pickleman have pickles man? You may have to follow my gardening exploits this season to find out.

"image.png"


IMG_7469.jpg

So little schedule today meant for some nice casual planting of quite a few other things picked up from the garden store you will be able to read about tomorrow. We did drag the hammock out for a little afternoon nap in the shade with the fuzzy dog. He was enjoying the cool grass but hopped up for a hammock snooze.
"image.png"


IMG_7488.jpg

After waking up from the nap and realizing that the kids were off doing something on the town with their friends, it was time for a little @tarazkp inspired date night. Much less than the movie and pub night but still a nice Indian meal from a newly launched restaurant. Been a while since my last restaurant review post so I may have to indulge you this week! Absolutely delicious Lamb Rogan Josh if not a bit overpriced.
"image.png"


IMG_7495a.jpg

The rest of the evening was spent cleaning up a little, deciding lawn mowing could wait til tomorrow, and garden watering. With over a week of no rain and temperatures regularly over 30 Celsius this week, I have had to get the hose out regularly to keep the new sprouts from drying out and burning up. The last couple, I have watered a little during the day and then a soak at night to they can get their tap roots down deep to where the water stays. Also, with a bunch of new flowers and veggies planted the last couple days, I will err on the side of overwatering to help them all throw down strong roots.


IMG_7495.jpg

Looks a little rough with the shaggy lawn but starting to come together. Should bust out a garden post tomorrow with all the details and new additions.

"image.png"


IMG_7496.jpg

A long day in the garden calls for a little extra strong IPA. I ripped into a Karma Pack on #beersaturday @zekepickleman/beersaturday-week-309-good-karma-4-pack and only got through half of the review. Getting a head start on the other two and I will make sure to get into them next Saturday. Delicious and strong.
"image.png"


IMG_7445.jpg

The sun goes down on another #sublimesunday. I hope yours was a great mix of fun and relaxation. Growing and sharing. What a great day for some photography and outdoor activity.

Cheers to a very beautiful and sublime Sunday!

"text16.png"

zekepickleman.jpg

I am honoured to curate for:

"gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Any beer, gardening or photography on your Sunday?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now