THE END IS NEAR

_DSC7213.jpg

This is a mural I painted end of summer 2016 in the context of a Viennese streetart festival called Cash Cans & Candy created by Katrin Sophie for Hilger gallery. Boicuts Mural is cut off on the right and to the left is a collabo piece by Ruin + Perkup. None of these folks are on steemit ( yet). Picture by my mate Benni Hofmann.

As so often, I'd been feeling bad but hopeful when I was sketching this. It's located on the streetside wall of a fancy school where plenty parents and kids pass. I thought it might be a good medium to say something. It's the words whacky conspiracy bums scribble on cardboard, chant and harass pedestrians with, all the while rockig delicately sculpted tin foil hats.

The duality of the message tickled me:

  1. The end is near i.e. the worst is over and the beginning of something new.
  2. The end is near i.e. you're as good as dead, game over so stop don't be dick.

On a technical note, I usually make sketches on the ipad using procreate in the dimension I'll be executing. I applied a grid system to the sketch to transfer it to the wall. I used paint from Obi that they mix at the counter. The colours are mad fresh and need no second coat. Also surprisingly weather resistent for an indoor colour brand. We can all appreciate good quality materials and tools. The time painting that wall was one of my favourite days that summer.

Untitled_Artwork.mp4.gif

I'd like to share that I have a lot of love for the art scene in Vienna, especially my fellow chump and chumpettes. Far from it being a creative pool, our little puddle is what I've always dreamed of: a community of talented, intelligent and progressive folks being their good selves, collaborating, calling on each other for support and often just kicking it. Summer simply can't come fast enough. Hope I can organise a wall until then.

Keep your eyes peeled!

Z


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center