Minnows Supporting Minnows - An Idea For Self-Help

One of the greatest obstacles to "getting noticed" at Steemit is the sheer volume of traffic on the "new" page. It is easy for good content to get lost in the shuffle. The whales of Steemit have put together some great programs to help us minnows navigate the treacherous waters of anonymity. The upvote program at PAL Discord is great. Although I have only successfully used it once. I am glad to see there is initiative to help us among the "elders" of this website.

There is also a Streemian program for curation called curie. I don't have any steem yet, so I am unable to sign up for a Streemian account until tomorrow, probably. Once I get that account, I hope to help promote good content when I find it. I have read some really good articles here that have otherwise had little attention.

Now...to the self-help. Our do-it-yourself minnow support group. Since I don't have the technical expertise to set up bots, I propose old school support. Go read an article or two of mine and upvote it. Leave a comment so I know you were there. It is easier for me to monitor the comment thread, since there is not a notification system on Streemit (hey, Streemit...are you listening...a notification button would be...awesome!). Once you comment, I will come visit your account and read a couple of your posts. If I like them, I will follow you as well. If I run into any articles that are exceptional, I will curate them through curie (once I have my account verified at Streemian).

I know our support for each other doesn't amount to much. We don't have the voting power of dolphins and whales. But it sure as hell beats having an article you spent a lot of time and effort to write floundering around with zeros on it. I get excited just to see one upvote and a penny in the payout window. Not because I need pennies. But because it says to me "what you have to say to the world has value."

So let's start supporting each other. Give each other a hand up. Because even minnows have a voice. And even with our minnow-mal voting power, if we put enough effort into supporting each other, it will have an effect eventually. After you comment, go visit some of the other people who have left a comment and show some love.

I look forward to hearing from you and the opportunity to read your stuff!

Photo courtesy of Wikipedia.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now