STORY FROM PHOTO: The Morning Dew


source

There is nothing as refreshing as the morning dew. It shades the gloom each day might bring. it falls on every living thing and discriminates not. The trees, the leaves, the vegetation all enjoy the refreshing out-pouring of the early morning dew. Kids are not left out in this excitement and the picture above reminds me so much about my days of growing up in the suburbs of Abuja, the capital of Nigeria.

As a kid I didn’t have everything at my disposal. My parents weren’t wealthy so I had to live everyday as it passes. I am the first child in a family of six gallant boys and no lady to call a sister. Being the first child, I had to learn to survive on my own as my parents were a set of hard working fellows, always on the run, trying to make ends meet and doing all they could to make sure I didn’t go hungry. My younger brothers hadn’t been given birth to so I found solace in THE MORNING DEW.

I had a group of friends back then and each morning we would go out very early in the morning and try to scoop as much water droplets as we could from plants with broad leaves. This was kinda fun for us and at the same time, it was a way we got fresh drinking water for the day as our streams were filthy and all we could use the water to do was laundry.

The morning dew gave me fresh water to drink. It brings peace and solace to the heart and soul. It made me forget who I was and where I came from and made me feel like every other normal person. It made me content in myself and made me worry less.

Today I am no more who I used to be, I am no more that poor little child I used to be. I no longer drink the freshly made water the morning dew gives for free, but I will never forget that which made me smile every morning. I will never forget that which gave me fresh water to drink, I will never forget that which made me feel like a king amidst poverty…The Morning Dew, I will never forget.

This is my entry to the story telling contest based on a photo by @gamer00. You can get to see the rules HERE

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center