Working with words in a language that is not mine AND What being a teacher is like for me.

Hello again, steemians!

Today, as I did on my introduceyourself post, I want to tell you about the thing I do for a living. But first, I'd like to share with you how I ended up teaching English as a second language.
IMG_20170119_053732.jpg

As a kid, I remember saying I wanted to be doctor, then I wanted to be a vet because of a dog I had and loved very much. But then I understood that if I was going to be a vet, I would have to deal with all kinds of animals, even with those I didn't like that much. And that's how that dream died.

Then, when I was about to finish high school, I decided I wanted to be a petroleum engineer, because that was what all of my friends wanted to be. You have no idea how disappointing it was when I found out that to be an engineer you need to be good at math, and I was never goot at numbers.

By the time I finished high school, I didn't know what to do with my future professional life. I tried to enter to any career with the hope I'd like it. I was assigned to Philosophy, career in which I spent two years and I feel I didn't learn anything. I didn't like it so I started tooking for other options. And since I always wanted to learn English, I decided on Modern Languages. The only detail about that career was that it was to teach and I had never seen me as a teacher.

I studied, I learnt, I graduated and the time to perform as a teacher had come. I remember how nervous I was, I was even shaking, but I did it. And I did well. I got the job in this English institution I work for now. And I must admit this has been one of the best adventures of my life. I have met lots of amazing people and I know there are more to come!

It is really satisfying seeing how your students grow and improve in the learning process and how grateful they can feel with you. These, among others, have been very good reasons for me to do my best when it comes to teaching.

Here are some pictures with some of my students during all this time teaching :)

IMG-20170908-WA0001.jpg

IMG_20170316_101425.jpg

IMG-20171122-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20171020-WA0003.jpg

IMG-20170824-WA0005.jpg

IMG-20170629-WA0004.jpg

IMG-20170303-WA0003.jpg

IMG_20171212_090717.jpg

Thanks for reading. Please vote and follow me :)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center