Evening Confessions #1: I used to be a scammer.

Welcome to my mini series!

No, I'm not bored this time, but I am almost running out of ideas to post (confessed, LOL!). I thought of ways on how I can grow as a blogger here on Steem, then I spoke with a close friend of mine. She suggests that I try making a series, but shit, I'm not good in making stories. So instead of making one, I can go ahead and tell you one. Right?

That was a great idea, thanks to her! So here I am today to share with you guys what happened to me in the past. What made Jek Saturday, Jek Saturday. I know that some people might not care, but I just can't keep the "series" thing hanging. I hope you find this interesting.

Let's go!


As what you can see in the title, yes, I used to be a scammer. A legit scammer.

There was a point in my life that I can't feed my family anymore, and can't find a job at all (nope, I am not rich. I don't consider myself successful, not yet). So I struggled to find a way to make money, at least make 300 pesos a day just to satisfy my family's stomach. I felt really bad during those times that I thought of committing suicide.

I received a call from a friend telling me that he is going to introduce me to a company that sells some kind of medicine, that he earns a lot with the company. The medicine is illegal, as it is not registered, and can't be registered as a legitimate drug due to lack of required documents. Without thinking of it, I said yes. Boom! I was hired as a sales staff and after three months of hard work, I was promoted to the management position.

Here are photos to satisfy your curious minds. These are photos of both my sales and commission in a single day.

7.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg


When I got promoted, this is the time I earned an average of 10,000 pesos daily. By the way, we sold each bottle for 900 pesos, and the budget to make one is only 20 pesos. See the difference? There's no doubt that you'll make it bigtime one day. It is overpriced yet many people bought it and I don't know why.

12642680_1270739152953096_564507747387454752_n.jpg
A photo of me and my friend with our boss brainstorming.

My friends keep telling me that I am scamming lots of people and I should stop before I go behind bars, but I replied no. I believed that as long as I have products to present, it will not be considered scam. (It is scam because we are selling an unregistered medicine and it's overpriced.)


One day, we were visited by a person at our production lab who happens to be from FDA, I know he's from FDA because he forgot to take off his ID badge before he entered the lab. He introduced himself as a bulk buyer. I gave him a wink realizing that we f*cked up bigtime. Our boss toured him inside the lab, and at that moment I was ready to leave.

I told my friend what happened and he believed me with my story, he was my friend after all. We agreed to make our move so we immediately went to the office and opened the safe, and since I am a manager, I know the password. Guess what? We stole what's in the safe. I mean come on, the company is in danger and all that's left to at least win is to take the damn money. We managed to take 400,000 pesos in the safe, we left a small amount so that my boss could at least bribe his way out of this mess.

The company was shut down, and the employees did not received their final compensation. It is strange that no one filed a case. Maybe they just don't want to be involved in a long process of judgement here in the Philippines. Thank God, our boss managed to get his way out as well, I don't know how but he did it. I was very close to my boss and I consider him a friend to me. I want him safe too, but with the mess we made, I want my family even safer.

Me, my friend and my boss see each other once in a while, sharing ideas on making a business, and this time we will make sure to conform to the law.


What you read is based on how I remembered things back then but is a true story.

Too bad I am going to end the very first episode of this series. I hope you liked it, but before you close this post, let me at least leave you a quote.

"Lack of money is the root of all evil."
- George Bernard Shaw


New.jpg

(c) 2017, Jek Saturday. All rights reserved.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center