Streaming plans for October and other updates

Okay, so it's been a few days since I last had an update, and I have a few things to say, so let's begin.

First of all, next stream will be Tuesday... I have said this before today, but I'm just stating it for the record. I'm currently looking at streaming only Tuesdays for the month of October, as I'm currently weighing up rescheduling Sunday streams to Saturday instead and need to decide if that's ultimately what I want to do. Additionally, this would require me to move Friday, as I need to allow a gap between streams. Also, if I do ultimately decide upon Saturdays to stream, then the fortnightly Sunday stream would instead be on Saturdays. I've yet to consider a time slot for Saturdays, but hopefully, I'll work something out soon. The fortnightly streaming schedule was always aiming to allow people to have a chance at being able to get together for 1-2 times a month, leaving the other 2 weeks for other things, although nothing is set in stone right now, so watch this space for updates in that regard.

As for the PC case move, I'm going to attempt to do that today (Monday), so I can finally get that issue out of the way, although my drive wipes and OS reinstall won't happen until after Tuesday, and may actually take the rest of the month, given I need to also back stuff up. Another thing I'll be doing is replacing the wireless network card I have with a newer one, although I don't expect that to have much of a difference when it comes to PC performance, although it does allow Bluetooth to be used in my desktop now. One thing I have upgraded and know won't really make much of a difference is my mixer, as all I've done was to replace it with a similar model that has Bluetooth and looks slightly different, but is otherwise the same model, except maybe a device name change, but that's neither here nor there.

My 700W power supply (PSU) is already in the case, along with the 500GB SSD, and a card reader, so that's a few things that won't need to be sorted out at least! I expect everything to mostly be the same when it comes to switching cases, although I do hope to fit at least one case fan so I can get rid of the hot air. There may be slightly less dust as well because there is no grate on top of the case, meaning that I also have somewhere to properly put my mixer when everything is sorted. The 850W PSU is going into the new case, along with potentially a spare DVD drive I have, depending on if it works or not, as I'll be testing it in my current rig to see if it does, though I'll be saving the install of all the bits into the new case for a future stream or video, to make up for not doing it for my current rig.

What I shall be doing however is doing a few photos (maybe a short video) of my new case upgrades to upload online eventually, and also doing a video of me upgrading my mini PC with a new SSD as a boot drive, as well as installing a storage drive to replace the SSD currently being used as the main and only drive. I may also upgrade the RAM later, but I'll see how I manage with 8GB first, and upgrade when I can afford to get a 16GB DIMM, as I've only a single slot in the board. I'll also test it in my Dell Vostro laptop to see if it can take more than 16GB of RAM, although I'll also want to do a video to upgrade the RAM in it from 4 to 16 GB, then also the 500GB drive in it at the same time; for both the laptop and mini PC, I'm considering a 2TB SSHD, mainly just to give the laptop a little speed boost, and to give the mini PC a slightly faster storage drive, as I may not actually need anything more than 2TB, but at the same time, I may think of something else.

In any case, I should hopefully upload some photos of my case move to my Instagram and Ko-Fi (so I can get into the habit of using it) accounts relatively soon, ideally before the end of the month. I am also going to start getting a bit stricter with my scheduling in terms of how many hours I stream per session, as I want to aim for 4 hours average, but allocating 5 hours to each session for prep and pre/post stream stuff. My reasoning for this is to allow me time to start getting videos out, although I am beginning to think that I may set up a second streaming channel on Twitch called 'StormkeeperSMDK', which I'll be reserving for my non-Geeked Up stuff, such as travel and stuff not related to Geeked Up. I do want to try to reach affiliate status with that channel too, but it's not very likely at present.

However, if nothing else, it will serve as a platform for me to link other things together, as 'SMDK' by its nature incorporates my Stormhaven Media and DiggerKrew stuff, sometimes together in one place, and sometimes not. On that note though, I'll be starting to tidy up my Stormkeeper stuff, as well as also the Stormhaven Media stuff in general, merging Discord channels, removing redundant channels, and other such housekeeping tasks as and when I think of it. This is to help streamline things a bit more, as I want to make things easier to work with for the start of next year, as I want to try to make things look a bit more professional, and also see where I'm able to automate things to make everything easier to manage. It'll take time, but I think it'll be worth it.

I'm not entirely sure what changes will happen at present, as my first order of business is to look at all my Stormkeeper stuff and see what needs to be done. I am thinking that SMDK may turn out to be most useful for my blog, Ko-Fi and Twitter at least, with everything else being either DK only, SM only, and maybe a couple of other SMDK things, depending on the nature of the outlet, and what sort of content I plan to publish there. I do eventually want to roll out the Patreons for SM, DK, and GU, but as I'm currently running solo with everything, my main priority is to sort my stuff out first, so I know what is going on, then start working on a couple of higher level projects (Diggernomics, the DiggerCast, and the DiggerFeast), as well as team members, before going up a level or two to the top.

Ultimately, I hope to see things look a little better, especially when it comes to my stream overlays, which have needed updating for a while now. I'll go into things later on, when I've had some rest, but also as time goes on when I know what I'm doing. In any case, I'll be looking at making tweaks with things here and there, so don't be surprised to see changes between now and the end of February, seeing as I'm going to make sure I set up some consistent "holiday periods" over the year, as well as redoing my scheduling, as I want to try to start a proper stream from 20:00 hours, if not 19:00, so I'm not up streaming as late, but again, I still need to think about all of that.

Either way, I've been typing for long enough now, so I'm going to leave it here. As always. watch this space for updates, and I'll see you all later on!

#stormkeepergu #stormkeeperpu-live #stream-scheduling #computer-upgrades #blog #newsandupdates #stormkeepersmdk #stormkeepersm #stormkeeperdk

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center