Thinking About Fear

I've been thinking a lot lately about the things that I fear. There are many fears to name, some of which have a huge negative impact on my life and how I operate.

I've been thinking about how to go about conquering those fears. What I've found is that perhaps what's more important is to first define those fears, in detail.

As you may know, I am a huge fan of Tim Ferriss. I listen to the podcast, have tried many of his recommendations and have read his writing. Ferriss' practices and thoughts on "Fear Setting" and Stoicism are something that I feel should be shared with the world. Stoicism has helped me to better define my fears, understand them, and therefore be more equipped to handle them. And handle them thoughtfully rather than react.

timferrissfear.jpg
Image Source
First, check out Tim's latest Ted Talk.
I tried to embed it here but TED videos aren't supported on here I guess :(

If you watched the video, which I highly suggest you do, you'll see that this type of thinking when it comes to fear really loosens you up. There's a reason so many successful people throughout history have utilized the Stoic philosophy. If you know your fear, you are much more likely to conquer it.

My favorite line from the clip,

With each of these, ask yourself "Has anyone, in the history of time, less intelligent or less driven figured this out?"

He's right. The answer to that question is usually yes, so why can't you?

Let you guys be my witnesses, I'm going to start tacking my fears more actively and thoughtfully. Not just with photography, but with my entire life.

Fear #1: Driving.
Yes, I'm 25. Yes, I know it's insane that I don't drive. Yes, I know you think it's easy. This is why I'm getting after it and going to overcome this crippling fear.

Updates on that to come soon.


-Chrissy

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center