Time to step up and give back to the community.

So I have been thinking about what I can do to help the community, whilst I can't be a witness because I have neither the finance nor the knowledge to do that. I believe there are plenty of people on the platform, teaching various things, I thought what could I do?

I have been listening in and taking part in a few shows and podcasts on the Steemstar Network. I regularly listen in and participate on VOTU (Voices of the underground,) PYPT (Pimp your post Thursdays) and now TOTL (Talk on the Line.) Two of them I am using to promote my own posts, and gaining an audience who are interested in my content.

Whilst I feel I am writing good content and getting engaging comments in the posts, I wonder if I am doing enough to serve the community. Giving it some serious thought I decided to contact @sircork last night.

I have offered to host a regular weekly show on the network, but I was not entirely sure what I was going to do, but it might be along the lines of looking at posts from people, which are not doing well and making them better. So that people could see maybe where they were going wrong, and what they could do to stand out a little more.

The torch has been passed.

Sircork made a great suggestion, when he was part of MSP he used to run Monday Night Minnow School, which originally was where people could come along and get advice about things like finding content, using markdown, how to network, and also making suggestions about offering to critique peoples posts.

When he made the offer at first, I thought could I do this? Could I make such an impact on other people to help them grow on the platform. Then whilst thinking and glancing through my activity, all the comments, the engagement, the thanks. A comment that I received yesterday really stuck out at me from a user called @laraszahostradio, who commented on my post about goal reaching for march, and they said this ....

Hello, I am a new member to steemit, and have found this nugget of feel good by searching the tag, ramblings, you are a crafty one my dear, I was hoping to have been the first to use it and was cleverly beaten by you, I read this post, and plan on reading your other posts that you have linked to, afterwards, I plan on completing my Profile page, I just wanted to congratulate you for two things, beating me to the punch in creating the tag ramblings, and your progress. If I may be so bold, may I assume English isn't your first language? No matter, I love you and goodnight.

(Credit @laraszahostradio)

I think this is the comment that really helped me to cement my decision about going ahead, and I would like to thank @sircork for not only giving me the opportunity, but having the faith in me to be able to do such a show.

So what's the plan.

(Source Pixabay)

So I still need to have further discussions with sircork and the team. And of course I would need to learn the ropes of course. And I think it would be a good idea to give myself two weeks, to learn and also promote the show to people who are interested in listening.

I have some segments planned already such as.

  • Critique your post.

  • Mastering Markdown

  • Creative Content

  • Succeeding at Sourcing

  • Taming your titles

  • True Trending.

  • Dynamic on Discord

  • Beat the bots.

These segment names could change but I wanted to make them catchy and attractive, and of course not mentioning that everything that I talk about is free of charge. No course fees or mandatory requirements, something hopefully for everyone.

Your input is much appreciated.

Whilst this is an exciting venture for me, I very much value your input. Whilst I have some ideas this show is overall for the community, so as much as I don't mind content ideas. Not everyone might like them, so if you have any ideas what you would like to see at Minnow School, please feel free to let me know and I will try my best.

Whilst I am no expert at steemit, I feel this could only be a good thing for the community and myself because it gives me the option to be able to develop my learning further. Also it gives me the opportunity to promote some of the fantastic servers that there are available.

I welcome your comments, for me with this exciting new venture and it is my pleasure to be able to serve the community better and help more of us grow.

Thank you for reading.

xoxo

My Achievements on Steemit

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center