Streamlined start to 2019 + giz a job already

So the job hunt is going..... just going. An update on that and some simple tips on how to lose weight...


Can't see the connection? It's pretty easy - no money, no beer. No beer, chocolate, pizza, coco puffs, or any other shite you might like but don't really need. Easy!

A few weeks ago I weighed myself for the first time in a year or two, I don't own a set of scales (cause I'm a bloke) and I think the last time I stood on a set prior to last week, was in Valencia, and it cost me 20 cents. This time though it was free, I'd taken a shower round at my mum's partners place as the water was off here, and after a shower but before clothing I thought, why not.

I was pretty surprised with the reading. 11 stone 6, which is just a smidge over 73 kg. To give a bit of context, I'm about 6 foot 1 - 186 cms, and I'm pretty sure that the last time I was this weight was prior to University - prior to a first term of beer, pizza, kebabs, and little exercise. My mum says I look thin, but I'm looking in the mirror in the morning each day thinking hey, this is alright!

I actually feel pretty good, less lethargic, and in a reasonable state of mind. And I've started doing a bit of exercise each day too. Don't worry though (mum), I'm not aiming to go lower and hopefully the exercise will make me hungry more often - plenty of pasta is on the cards for the coming weeks. Unless.....

One of these fuckers who keeps calling me actually follows through with what they say and get me an interview. I've had 3/4 calls and as many emails in the past 4/5 weeks, asking about my availability and if I am still looking for work. I'm pretty sure my answer each time has been a solid 'yes', but so far, following this initial call, (and promise on a few occasions) nothing else has materialized. Personally I think they just want you on a list to prove to their bosses that they have new contacts. That shouldn't mean shit though unless they are placed, right?

My first choice still is Valencia, and although it's not close to home, or my daughter in other words, sorta, it's easily the sunniest city that has been put forward so far. The UN though are pretty slow and steady, and although I'm 'on the list', I was told be the recruiter not to hold back if something else comes along.

Would you believe that I've been contacted about two jobs in Poland? The location of Steemfest 3, was not somewhere I thought I'd be going back to anytime soon, and I suspect it is currently mucho frio over there. Lodz, and Wroclaw are the two cities in question. I'm not that keen to be honest, even though I have the form which asks:

Availability :
Nationality :
Expected Per day rate:
Current Location :

Is this like being handed a blank cheque? :D

There has been some interest much closer to where my daughter lives, and the contract length (short) and salary (another world compared to what I've been living off!) are pretty decent. So I guess if one of those gained traction, I would suffer the cold shitty-assed UK weather for a fixed period of time, and make the most of the weekend time with visits to see this person...


1.jpg

She's 13 in March and I suspect will be taller than her mother soon - which I find totally amusing and excellent. She'll need the height though for swimming, and like my late father, is pretty good at Water Polo - good enough to mix it with the boys, who are quite partial to elbows and underwater kicks apparently.

6ft 1 / 186 cm though is asking a lot, Dad still winning... :)


NKZA3897.jpg

So yeah, she's well, seems happy, and that's good enough for me for the time-being. I did think about not saying anything about the possibility of a move back to the UK, but decided to mention that there was a chance, without making too big a deal out of it. I'm going to leave it in the hands of the employment gods and if a contract comes up in Nottingham or close by, I'll likely take it.

In the mean time, 2/3 meals a day, a bit of exercise, and a fair amount of Steem.

Thanks for reading

Asher

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center