A Satosan Dragon "Asahi"

This is a story of a how I went down a rabbit hole of more silver private mints, chasing after dragons!!!

I was reading up @nofiat's post on his Le Grand Mint's Evolution beautiful pieces of silver. That let me to search for them online to find out more, which led me to @phelimint's website. From there, I looked at the various private mints and came across the Asahi dragon from Satosan, which is based on the Japanese silver sen, which I also read about from an earlier post from @thedamus.

If you have been reading my posts, you may know that I am having dragon fever. It ebbs and flows, but always there. Alas, Phelimint is out of the Asahi round, so I went digging around online again, looking into the source at Satosan Metals. They are out of stock as well..... ok, back to the tracking down that elusive dragon.

Finally, my hunt was fruitful, and I grabbed it immediately!

It came in the mail a few days ago, and with trepidation, I opened the mail package. It came in a nice black paper box, with wavy, glossy design. It comes with a nifty little plastic stand for the round as well.

Behold, the gold-gilded Asahi dragon!!

It is a subset of a total limited maximum mintage of 1,000. The current batch is numbered 401 - 550, and of this subset, only a further subset is gilded in 24K gold, only those with double last numbers. There are only 14 pieces in this range, and I got the coin right in the middle of the total run, #500. There should only be 100 rounds of gold-gilded rounds once the maximum 1000 is minted.

And the back of the round features Satosan's lithography logo and Mt Fuji.

One more look at this beauty, nestled into its dragon den.

Thank you for following my dragon hunt! There are more coming!!

The wonderful steemsilvergold community certainly helped open more possibilities and wonders to me!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center