I Wonder What She Would Have Been Like

I wonder what she would have been like, that daughter I never met.

We hoped, and planned, and sold, to make the surgery a success.

I was young then, too young to know that sometimes plans fail.

To me a heartbeat, and a kick was all the confirmation that a young Dad required.

Months of planning, and painting, and shopping all done.

Baby's not moving much, probably nothing at all.

Trip to the hospital to be sent home to wait. We aren't hearing a heartbeat.

The delivery was scheduled as if nothing was wrong.

We held her her for a moment, together and strong.

15172079683141766781657.jpg

Her features were perfect, and for a little while we forgot.

We visit now, much less than we did. Time moves on.

I wonder tonight though, what my girl would be like now, at twenty-three?

To know that happiness of an entire lifetime missed.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center