Is homeschooling a good idea?

Hi Steemians, it is good to be back!!!! :)

I've been away for some time. I've been a busy mom for months and so. After my son's moving up last March in a typical daycare center, we've decided to let him take summer class so he won't keep watching cartoons and videos at home. After his summer class, we let him had his vacation here in Cebu. We were so excited because it's only me, my husband and his yaya at home, no grandparents. I am somehow happy, him being with us alone because he is being spoiled by his grandparents (my in-laws). He's the first grandchild, (that's why).. so we cannot discipline him well.

image6.jpeg
(he wants to write his daddy's name, so I dictate what letter to write, when I saw him writing upper case 'A' I corrected him, i told him to write small 'A' only, so he wrote small letter 'A' literally. hahaha)

image5.jpeg
(he is fund of writing, the paper above is for me, he wrote 'happy mother's day' daw, hahaha, while below is for his dad, he wrote 'happy father's day' sad daw :D)

While he's at home (in cebu), he has lots of question, why we chose to stay in our new house, why Cebu and Calbayog(my husand's province) are very different and blah blah. At 4, he is being observant and very talkative. I like him being like that though. It makes me a proud mom seeing my child progressing in everything he does. He can sing and dance and speak English (with accent) without us teaching him. He is very observant and he can easily adopt what he saw or heard. But there is one thing we can't control about him, his tantrums, when he shout, he will shout at the top of his lungs and he will never listen, he wants us to give what he demands and I find it alarming. I don't want him to be like that. I want him to learn how to obey and listen to us. I've consulted the wife of our pastor, I've told her about my son's behavior at home, and at school. He's very different, because at school, he knows how to listen. He behaves well, which is a good thing. But we want him to do the same at home. While talking to Ate Juby (Pastor's wife), she recommended home schooling to me. Her two children are being home schooled by her, after she find out that her child can't perform well at school. She introduces to me what homeschooling is and I'm bit interested. It is costly though because of the modules and books that my son will be needing. She discussed the Charlotte Mason Method approach, which I also like because The Charlotte Mason method is based on Charlotte’s firm belief that the child is a person and we must educate that whole person, not just his mind. So a Charlotte Mason education is three-pronged: in her words, “Education is an Atmosphere, a Discipline, a Life.” (source:https://simplycharlottemason.com/what-is-the-charlotte-mason-method/)

image3.jpeg

I've discussed it with my husband the next day, but my husband is not confident that I can do it. Because first, my son won't listen to me. He has this attitude that he will do whatever he wants first, so it will be hard for me to feed him new learning each day. Second, if I'll do homeschooling, it means I should stop working (which I cannot give up yet because, bills are coming each month). So, we've decided first to enroll him in a typical nursery school. But while buying all his stuff at school, I realized that I better home school my son. I'm in between giving up my job and be a teacher to my son. Maybe next year, (I'll decide.."sigh"). I want to be with him after all. I want us to be a family in our new home. In God's perfect time. We have to sacrifice being far from him for now. :(

image2.jpeg

image4.jpeg

image1.jpeg

What are your thoughts about homeschooling? You may drop your comments below. :)

please follow me @thebravesoul.

Thank you.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now