Picture Day

It was autumn in 1992 and I was preparing for my first school picture day. I just knew that if I could make and wear a necklace made out of Barbie clothes I would have the coolest picture in my class.

My mom was not thrilled with this idea and forbade me from carrying it out.

But I was determined.

The day before picture day I went into the bedroom I shared with my sister and got to work making the necklace. I snuck the necklace into my bright yellow backpack.

The morning of school pictures was finally upon us. I couldn't believe my luck, my mom had class so my dad was taking me to school! My sweet father, he wouldn't check my backpack for Barbie-related contraband.

I was successful in my attempt. My first ever school picture has me grinning my toothy 5-year-old grin, wearing my favorite dress, and a necklace made of Barbie clothes.

senjuti-kundu-349426.jpg
This is not me. Thank you to Senjuti Kundu on Unsplash for this amazing photo!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center