Do We Really Want To Grow (day 42)

20180324_171425 (2).jpg

Do we really want to grow?
But first, do we really know
What it means to grow old?
Maybe charismatic? Bold?
Or maybe enlightened and wise?
Do we really realise
That this ancient combination
Of age and rank and reputation
Should never be our goal?
We shouldn't allow it to control
Our moves and words and attitude.
In fact, what should be pursued
Is peace and love, and delight.
That's what matters. Am I not right?


Everytime I join a new community or participate in an activity in real life, I have this habit of stepping back and deciding whether I want to be the funny young man who enjoys it and makes people enjoy or someone who knows what to do and what to say, someone everyone should listen to.

Being both seems impossible for now.

As a result, so many people get really surprised when I tell them my age. Almost everytime I say my age, people either think I'm older or younger than I look, according to the choice I made, which is usually the first one.

Today I wanted to write a poem about the fact that maybe I should "grow up" and I don't mean age here. I mean attitude, specially here in steemit and discord. For my voice to be heard.

Obviously I failed. The funny young man in me fought back really hard and changed the course of the poem. So here I am surrendering to him, for now, and posting it as my day 42 of @D-Pend's 100 days of poetry challenge.

10885442_694719303958880_3812496214253318443_n.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center