How I Became An Actor (Part 1)

During my high school days, I really liked acting; I was part of the theater group and very active in our annual school plays. Not only that, I always made sure to join declamation and oratorical contest. Sometimes, I would take home medals and enjoyed the appreciation from my fellow students and my teachers.
26941237_10214029527084621_2128806463_n.jpg
If I recall it correctly, I started going to VTRs in Makati City hoping to land a role or two in TV commercials. Back in 1992, a lot of people were telling me kamukha ko daw si Richard Gomez. (Hahaha!) Due to my perseverance, I ended up getting some print ad projects, did some ramp modeling and was casted in a TV commercial.
During the same era, ANG TV was a phenomenal TV show in ABS CBN. I really liked to be part of the show; so as soon as I saw the TV plug/teaser showing the audition date, I thought I was too quick to respond, but, I was wrong; like the TV show itself, the actual audition was also a phenomenon...this was a different experience from my usual auditions and VTRs. The line of people was like 2 kilometers away from the studio; and you only get 2 minutes on the stage to show them what you've got. I was very nervous when it was my turn. I think there were 4 guys in the panel who served as judges. One of them was a tall guy, very quiet, just looking intently. I later found out that he's the BIG BOSS, Mr. Johnny Manahan. That was the longest 2 minutes of my life. After that, I was told to wait for a call to know whether I got in or not. I obviously didn't.
But I really did receive a call a few weeks later telling me that they wanted me to come for another audition, but, for a different project. I think they liked the tone of my voice, very deep and low, and so they asked me to audition as a TV host or anchor. So, I went. My "batch mates" in that audition were Christine Bersola and theater actor Earl Ignacio. It went well. I got a callback; but, I was faced with a big problem because I just contracted Chicken Pox and I looked really terrible, so my dream of being on TV is over. I didn't make it. Heartbroken as I was, I've got no choice but to go on with my regular life.
26803673_10214029526964618_290328870_n.jpg
I graduated from high school and still kept joining acting workshops outside of school. I also got accepted in a prestigious college and studied Electronic Communications Engineering. I also enjoyed being a working student at Mc Donald's earning some cash and getting free meals.
19060092_10214029500643960_5033412009133451210_n.jpg
I believe God wants me to be in show business after all, because one day, while window-shopping in SM North Annex, the Guess store to be exact, a tall guy approach me and asked if I was the one who went to several auditions in ABS CBN. I confirmed it and immediately recognized him as Johnny Manahan or Mr. M. He asked if I am still interested to be an actor and said that he was launching another batch of artists, which was Star Circle Batch 3 (I was launched in Batch 4 due to circumstances that I believe God had full control of). He asked me to visit his office and we had a series of meetings... (to be continued)
26231440_10214029500363953_8787500605615361_n.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center