Steemitnamechallenge: the silly story behind the name @radarklaw

26196056_2297058423652964_7719018458890956562_n.jpg

Ok first off..!! I accept this #steemitnamechallenge from @jhaysnsonofbenz
Secondly, I will tell you all how ALL of my names came about, and every other things as requested.
Then finally, whenever I see @jhaysnsonofbenz again I will punch him so hard that any other #sonofbenz who would ever think of making me spill some silly secrets like this is gonna feel it.

  1. My name is Mfon Samuel Idim, shortened from the complete name my parents gave me which was Efremfon Samuel Idimoko @jhaysnsonofbenz said his name's "weird", hehehe his name doesn't even come close.
    This name Efremfon is an Ibibio name from Nigeria meaning 'who forgets favour/grace', the name Samuel is a Hebrew name meaning: Name of God; asked of God; heard by God, while Idimoko means 'that stream'.
    Now Idimoko is actually my dad's name and not my grandfather's as many must have thought based on the arrangement. Dad told us that he was birthed by the stream that's why his parents called him 'Idim' meaning 'stream', when he grew up he decided to distinguish himself from other Idims so he added 'oko' to make it 'that stream'.
    But the reason he named me Efremfon, I don't know, the truth is I never liked it, so I also decided to shorten mine to just Mfon (Grace) and his to what it originally was - Idim, because at a point I got so tired of explaining to people who were curious about the origin, and trust me when I say this, a lot of people were interested, and this robbed me of many valuable discussion time.

  2. Alright, now that we got that out of the way, lets head to the Username. Caution: this is where it gets even weirder.
    @radarklaw wasnt actually supposed to be my nickname, it was my first email address (I still use it anyway), this is the story so grab your popcorn and relax.
    When I was in High School, I was down with a silly sickness (or should I call it infection?) that shifted my jaw. It made my jaw to protrude further down than it's supposed to be, this made kids in my school to make fun of me; calling me names like Pharaoh's Jaw hahahaha I can't forget the humiliation back then but that name took my interest to Egypt and I gradually developed the love for history especially ancient Egyptian history. So like I used to tell people back then, let me tell you all now. "I coined the name 'Radark' from the combination of 'Ra' and 'dark'. Ra was the name of the Egyptian sun god and I am not fair in complexion." The sun symbolizes the genesis of all things, and to the Egyptians, the sun represented light, warmth, and growth. This made the sun deity very important, as the sun was seen as the ruler of all that he created. Pharaohs who kept Law and Order in those dynasties back then called themselves "the sons of Ra" so to avoid bringing back Pharaoh into the mouths of my classmates, I used 'Law" to complete the name "@radarklaw" thus my email address #radarklaw@gmail.com. Before I knew it, my friends started using it when calling me Radark or Radarklaw until I accepted it till date. That's it.

I have grown to accept this name, I don't intend changing it, not anytime soon.

For this challenge, I'd be nominating @cryptobebe @yemi90210, @orgoniteog, @ragnar94, @toresto.

Please do well to intimate us with the meaning of your usernames, let us know the story behind them.

The tasks are:

accept the challenge

Tell us your real name

Give a story about your username

If you were to change your steemit user name, what would you change it to?

use the tag #steemitnamechallenge so your entry can be easily tracked

Nominate 5 friends to take up the challenge

Thanks

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center