Ulog #4 Total Frustration

Hi Uloggers,

So thankful for this platform so that I can share my total frustration today.
In Australia, we celebrate Book Week in August, and every school that I know of celebrate it by having a Book Week costume day, where every child dresses up in their favourite book character. It is a time we see a lot of princesses from girls and superheroes from boys.

As a stay at home mum and educator, I thought I'll get a jump start in the costume department and went hunting on Pinterest for some cute outfits. I finally convinced my daughter to go as "Miss Frizzle" from the Magic School Bus series, because princesses are soooo overdone.

Here's one that we just thought was so cute:

enhanced-buzz-8669-1381345675-19.jpg
Pic courtesy of Buzzfeed

And here's the original Miss Frizzle:

maxresdefault.jpg

Courtesy of Youtuber Liane Bubs

So I went out to buy a cute shirtdress for my daughter ($30AUD!), and some coloured felt and started working:

pic 1.jpg

And spent a few HOURS to make it look like this:

pic1.jpg

My little girl and I were sooo excited...but just before I took out the hot glue gun and sewing kit, I thought I'll just double check with my teacher friend who works at the same school if the school definitely have a book character day (@vincy - your sis in law ;)) And turns out, her school is the ONLY school who doesn't do it!!!😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭😭

All my mummy friends & my own school have a book character day, so I was soo upset to hear they don't celebrate it!

So this is why I am totally frustrated today. Got any ideas how I can still use this outfit?!

Here's one #fromthecuttingroomfloor so you can see the work in progress:

pic.jpg

Sigh!

20180516_002249_0001.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center