The Guts of a Morena!

What does it take to be a Morena in my country?

FB_IMG_1518527176454.jpg

Hmnn...🤔

Walking into a store and trying to find soap or lotion without a "whitening" or "for fairer skin" label? This is always a challenge!

images.jpeg

Advertisements where the girl is sad because she isn't as fair as she wants to be, and then, she uses a product that makes her skin whiter and boom! A radiant smile and happiness on her face!!

13103725423_0facda4c9a_b.jpg

Sad that we are made to think that fair skin is better than what we already have.

Where phones are bought based on how good the filter is and wether it can make one's skin whiter.

Where fair skinned seems to get more privileges and chances on things.

Where "most" men prefer white-skinned "chicks"...and where people look at white people like royalties.

queen-1892431_1280.png

It is difficult to be a morena in this country...in a society where my color is less pretty.

I always wished I had fairer skin. But after I went to the U.S. for an exchange year, I was enlightened. With so much diversity, my skin color was adored and I was beautiful. I learned to love and appreciate others despite differences. I learned to love my own skin color.

FB_IMG_1518527540543.jpg

It takes contentment and self acceptance to be who you are but its worth it.😊

I am a MORENA and I'm proud!
FB_IMG_1518526917057.jpg

Image sources: https://goo.gl/images/C91rqx

U5dsnt2Y19qmNJ6S4rHWGSU4yi4wucH.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now