Why Did I Choose To Be An Educator? (STEEMHOMEWORK)


Hello Steemians! In response to this week's Steem Homework, I'm going to share to you my story and the reason why I became an educator.




I originally took up "BS Nursing" in University. I love the course and I love everything about Nursing, even the pressure and the stress. At first, never had it crossed my mind to become a teacher. However, in Nursing, we also had to have some activities related to teaching like Health Teaching to people in the community, to significant others in the hospital and conduct various therapies especially in the Psychiatric Ward.






Here are some shots while I and my group mates were preparing for the Sensory Stimulation Therapy and Dance Therapy. Since we were dealing with patients from the Psychiatric ward, it felt like teaching kids of various age. Doing the letter cutting for this backdrop was also my responsibility back then, so somehow, it's like I'm used to making visual aids manually. ^^



Aside from those activities, I used to hold group study with some of my friends. I usually review what we had discussed at the University to them. It makes me happy when they can get a full grasp of the topic whenever I hold reviews.

In the Philippines, before you can work at the hospital, you have to take and pass the Licensure Exam for Nurses first. Since there were a lot of takers, the result wouldn't come out in a couple of months.

As a then temporary job, I decided to try applying for an online ESL (English as Second Language) school in Cebu. I got the job, and I joined the training and other stuff. After a month, I was able to enjoy it fully that I forgot I was actually waiting for the exam results.

A couple months passed by and the result was announced. I passed with flying colors. Almost ended up in the top 10 with only a 0.5 difference. I was so happy with the result! But here came my dilemma... I couldn't say goodbye to the job I am enjoying a lot.



Aside from the job and the students, I enjoyed the company of my colleagues... We worked from 10PM until 7AM back then. I chose to stay and continued the job for a year. The reason why I quit wasn't to become a nurse, but to try teaching offline. I wanted to discover how it feels to really have a class face to face. And thus, I worked for a Korean Offline English Academy.



The experience was amazing!!! I learned to love teaching more and more as I met new students from various places. Not only did I impart my knowledge, but I also learned a lot from them. I got not only students... but friends from all over Asia. I still keep in touch with my Korean and Japanese students/friends.

I actually didn't want to leave the academy, but I had to. WHY??? It's because I wanted to make "Teaching" as my real profession. I want to have a license to teach in the Philippines, and if given a chance, I want to teach anywhere in the world... especially Japan (my dream country).

When I left the academy after more than a year of teaching there, I started teaching English at home. Since it has a flexible schedule, I was able to continue my education. I took up a special program called, "Diploma of Professional Education" which then allowed me to take the Licensure Exam for Teachers.



And so I met these kids... During my practice teaching, these were my students. They were grade 8 night students that time in one of the public high schools in my city. I really love them! I'm so glad that I met them. They encouraged me to do my best and enjoy life. Young minds are awesome!

When I left, they secretly took my notebook and left a message for me there. It's my treasure and I'm glad that they kept in touch with me. They're now grade 10 students and still consult with me if they have anything going on in school. They're like my own children. ^^

I took the Licensure Exam for Teachers last year and I passed. I now have my license, but as of the moment, I'm continuing my job as a home based online English instructor. I plan to study again, so I'm saving up for it.

Teaching is not an easy profession, but it's really fulfilling. I may have given up my profession as a Nurse, but everything I've learned from the Nursing school is very useful.

My experiences from both my professions are my treasure. I'm leaving no regrets and I'll continue to pursue the things that make me happy.

Thanks a lot for reading, and I hope you enjoyed my story.

I'm ending this with the quote I made...

Learning/Living is difficult! However, they're JUST difficult, right? But NEVER impossible! Learn and Live without regrets! <3



Thanks a lot for dropping by!
Love lots, @tegoshei

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center