RE: RE: 5 Ways to Improve Steemit
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 Ways to Improve Steemit

RE: 5 Ways to Improve Steemit

I also have a few things that I think should be fixed with steemit, and I wrote it in my post.

I understand if you don't want to read it, I am not really looking for upvotes, just trying to get my opinion out there, so I will write in the comment about 2 of the main things from my post that should be worked on on steemit and one additional point that I failed to mention in my post.

I will be copy pasting from my own post, so please don't flag, that is my original content and I give myself the copy rights to share my work here.(I know I dont really need to)

1. Search Filters

An issue that I think should be worked with is the search functionality, which, is the only thing about steemit that I could say, absolutely sucks. The site uses the google search that in my opinion, just using google dork, outputs all of the posts that contains the keyword that we searched for on the site.

Which is A LOT of posts, and posts from every tag, so it is pretty much useless unless you decide to go through every post on steemit which contains the keyword that you searched for.

giphy (4).gif

The site should have its own search functionality with filters, i.e search filters, tags, users, posts, etc(a function that is actually available in esteem, but if esteem had the function to advanced filter the posts, like posts that are shared in defined tag or by a particular user) that would just make the system much more user friendly and better.

giphy (10).gif

2. Hide Reputation

Now, I have not read this anywhere and I think this is something that I came up with originally(I hope so, I don't like being basic)?

I am not suggesting to remove the reputation system completely, no way, that would only make the system shittier, what I am suggesting is that, in our feed/trending/new/hot, etc categories, the reputation number from the front of authors name should be hidden.

Although their reputation should be transparent and available to all on their personal blog.

The point in doing this is that, people a lot of time just skip posts from authors with lower reputation, and they upvote posts from authors with high reputation without even reading them at all.

What this would do is that, it would increase the chances of posts to be seen from authors who have just joined steemit, and are still struggling to get followers or upvotes.

The reputation system should still go on on background, the posts from authors who have been on steemit for quite some time and still have low reputation because of they plagiarize, spam, or create crappy content that gets flagged a lot should be hid or low chances of visibility to increase the quality of the website.

giphy (5).gif

3. Downvotes

I failed to mention this on my post even tho I had this in my mind but I think there should be another option called downvote, since we can just disagree with some content, that does not mean that content is spam or anything violating any rule, so flagging, especially from whales can seriously fuck someone's steemit career up. We should have a downvote option to just disagree with content that we do not like, instead of flagging which should only be used in case any steemit rule(ik there are none actually, but we have to be civil) is violated

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now