LESS time on SOCIAL MEDIA means MORE time on STEEMIT

Many would argue at Steemit is a social platform, a space which holds the collective focus of its many users and creates social interaction and discussion online. Whilst on Steemit, not once have I felt that I was a user on a social media platform. I think this is due to the fact that the mainstream platforms I use such as Facebook and Instagram have polluted my idea of what a social media platform should be. The underlying concepts behind these popular platforms allow us to interact and share in many different ways: the sharing of photos and group discussions and updates about events with friends. Therefore in many regards they are very useful

17883685_10155161133503255_1317176290363801920_n.jpg

My personal opinion is that these platforms have been contaminated by individuals that are so focused on portraying an ideal self that they lose themselves and sacrifice any sense of authenticity for superficial attention. As younger generations spend more time interacting online, these platforms become the primary sources from which these youngsters make interpretations of each other, further encouraging the desire to project an ‘ideal self’. This act of social fraud rips the individual away from ever understanding himself or herself, instead they come to align with the fictional characters they portray online. As they feed this character they have a simultaneously ever-increasing feeling that they are a fraud.

Screen Shot 2017-05-11 at 18.17.23.png (John Holcroft)

One could argue that we are at all times, even during real life interactions that we are always trying to portray an ideal self and want to imprint a particular image of ourselves in the minds of others. And that is a completely valid argument. Perhaps we are all frauds, living the lives of characters we have created to suit the interests of positive and profitable social interaction. I think the extent to which this occurs on Facebook and Instagram though well exceeds real-life interactions. People are generally quite intuitive and have an innate set of investigative tools that can quickly identify inauthenticity face to face. It’s is much more difficult on social media.

Thus, it is not the technology that has put me off, nor is it the people exactly, but it is the way in which people ‘behave’ or more specifically ‘project’ themselves. At its current state, I think these mainstream platforms perpetuate a false sense of self and are not serving the human race as a means of collective progression and conscious evolution. I think these platforms are downgrading us as a species.

Screen Shot 2017-05-12 at 07.46.35.png

This is where Steemit comes in.

Steemit has allowed me to enter another world. It feels like I am voyaging through an online encyclopaedia of multiple dimensions within dimensions, every turn in this sea of experience, passion, and vision paints another portrait of reality. Its like I can taste everyone’s creative energies and everyone is ready to expose themselves and really contribute. I have now acquired interests that I would have never had even conceived of if I had not joined Steemit a few days ago, have made plans to travel to some of the places I have seen blogged and have tried out recipes by financially prudent mothers.

For the first time on a social media platform (Steemit obvs) I’m am confident that this blockchain technology and people using it can actually contribute to a better existence for all. That we can think beyond and seek less superficial gratification and actually have others appreciate the projections of our true selves and real passions. I have only been on Steemit less than a week and have already had 2 individuals offer to help me some start-ups going in the area of mental health. I am excited to get connected to more people.

This is an exciting to space to be in. Everything feels real. I still have much to learn. I would be interested to hear anyone elses opinion, please comment below.

Facebook and Instagram have not been on my mind since I joined Steemit. Long may it continue.

Thanks for reading Namaste.

Image credits

http://www.johnholcroft.com/
http://gwadzilla.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/de-evolution-of-man.html

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center