To share my identity or to remain anonymous.......

I have yet to decide.

But I can see plenty of benefits and potential problems coming from both. I welcome the perspective of some more seasoned steemians too.

I write stories and songs and hope to inspire others, helping them realize that they are creating their reality and to encourage them to do so consciously. I am also doing whatever I can to promote strong communities that make it easier to share resources and cooperate. I'm really into pay-what-you-want and the gift economy.

So, Why stay anonymous?

  • Privacy, as if that needs being said. I value mine. Not because I have any dirty secrets but because not everyone likes you all the time and you become vulnerable.

  • Self-censorship, this may be the biggest reason. Some things you feel much more free to express when you know your parents aren't going to see it. If no one knows who I am, I can talk about anything no matter how private it is. Also, It's likely that eventually I am going to say something stupid and offensive to someone. I avoid making enemies but in the case that I do piss off the wrong person, It's nice to have more hurdles so that it isn't as easy for them to find my identity (although these days I doubt there isn't a way they could do it if they really tried). I really dislike making enemies, more than most, not because I'm scared of being disliked, but because it's tiring and sometimes people get unpredictable when you piss them off. I don't plan on pissing anyone off, but it seems so easy to piss people off in 2017.

  • Safety? , I'm not sure if I am overthinking here, perhaps it's futile. The main thing here is that I am friends with more than a few activists, some potentially under heavy surveillance. I am sure we are ALL on some kind of list, but if it's harder to make the connections, perhaps I can avoid being put high on the list, even if, for example, my music and writing became more well-known. I know very little about hacking, encryption and how the internet works, but I do understand the implications of the way metadata is collected and I think it might make it a little more difficult to collect by staying anonymous in a place where I will be going much deeper into my stance on things.

  • Freedom/Because I haven't done it since I was a kid. Back when AOL was kicking off I spoke anonymously in chat rooms. It felt free and kind of fun, mostly because of what I said above about self-censorship. Since facebook has come along, I've mostly used that as a means of staying in touch with many friends in different places. I've thought about closing my account many times, but because many of my friends are scattered throughout the world, it is convenient to have. And it's nice to have a place where no one knows who I am too, especially knowing what it's like to have people recognize you from your performances (not super famous or anything, but who knows what could happen).

  • My writing - I write short stories and have posted a few on a Patreon account where I hoped to stay anonymous. I really want people to focus on my art and ideas, rather on me as a person. As I said, I perform music as well and I know how people really obsess over those who they admire, for whatever reason they admire the person. I don't play on the stage anymore because it feels like there is an artificial wall there, I play very few shows now, and usually only casual collaborations because I feel that with the way venues and promoters focus on my face, my identity, my image, it takes away from the music.

  • Cult of personality promotes hierarchy, notoriety is power in our society. Artist/Fan, Doctor/Patient, Leader/Subordinate, I would love to break this pattern where those with knowledge or ability hold on to it, or use it to feel somehow superior to others who don't feel empowered. I admire Banksy and the way he (she?) creates art that reaches people and speaks to people but without becoming the center of attention. Also, I am not trying to reach as many people as I can, I want an audience that connects with what I do.

So why share my identity....?

  • To connect with fellow users on a deeper level, you can get closer if you let people know more about you and I would really like to connect with the people here, it's a great community, this is probably the biggest reason. I see so many potential friends here.

  • Generating interest on my posts - People will definitely take a greater interest in what I have to say if they can put a face to my writing. This means more friends, more money, less hurdles to reaching those who might connect with what I do.

  • The perks of being know - if people know you and like what you do, they are much more inclined to help you out, a place to crash, a free ride....

  • More pictures, I would feel free to post pictures from my personal life.

  • It's just simpler Or maybe it's not, I'm not sure.

This post is a lot more scatterbrained than I intended so I will end it here.

What do you think? I'm waiting for your replies!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center