Five Biggest Mistakes You Can Make On Steemit

The Steemit community is an amazing place and we can keep it that way if we all avoid the five biggest mistakes you can make on Steemit.


1. Not Backing Up Your Password

You don't want to be locked out of your account with no way to get it back because you never saved your password. This is very important. Don't lose your password and save a hard version of it if you can. I strongly recommend keeping your password safe and backed-up. There is no larger mistake than being locked out of your account.


2. Not Investing Into STEEM Power

When you get all that SBD do you send it to Blocktrades and cash out or do you buy back in to Steemit and buy STEEM Power?  If you want to grow on Steemit, then invest back in to SP. I generally pull out 20% of my SBD or 10% of my total rewards to put towards buying bitcoin and stashing in my wallet. Aside from my minor withdrawals, almost everything goes back into investing in Steemit and my account.


3. Not Providing Value

The people on Steemit that succeed are the ones adding value. Writing valuable content, posting great and valuable replies or just supporting new minnows with votes. There is are a lot of ways to add value to your readers and if you do, then you will succeed. You add value by posting what you want, but trying to help or inform the reader. If you are not adding value in some way, you are making a big Steemit mistake.


4. Asking For Things

Don't vote on a blog post and then after they have written 500 words on a topic with pictures and links, you reply... "This is great, follow me and I'll follow you back." It isn't cool. That doesn't add value and I don't follow people who ask me.  Don't ask whales for an upvote, just make them notice you because you add valuable replies to their content. Just don't ask for things... instead offer value and you will see more valuable posts.


5. Being A Dick

Don't be a dick. This is a really great community with a lot of similar minded folks that don't like people being rude or offensive on their posts. It doesn't add value and you will likely get downvoted and then walk away from Steemit angry. Don't do that. Be kind, add good value and you'll find Steemit is a wonderful place.

(all gifs from giphy.com)

I hope these helped. Share if you think another Steemonian will find this valuable. Please let me know what other big mistakes people can make in the comments below.

To my followers, you are the rules that keep me in line.



H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now