My trials trying to withdraw Steem Dollars - I meant Bittrex.com not @bittrex!

This is the story of how I mistakenly moved my Steem Dollars - not to Bittrex.com - but to @bittrex Steemit account. Doh!

enter image description here
Stupid noob you think, maybe...........

I have been trying to withdraw my Steem Dollars for a few weeks now and have found them variously moving between my account and my savings and back again as I try to work out the correct procedure. In this time I have looked for tutorials and couldn't find anything clear and concise..I made the mistake of following @blocktalk's tutorial and got it badly wrong!

I am by no means denigrating the author or suspecting him of collaborating with @bittrex, I'm sure the fault is mine, but it strikes me others may have gone down the same route at their peril. I maintain there is a lack of clear documentation as to how to withdraw SBD.

So, I started following the instructions.

The tutorial uses bittrex as an example in the pay 'to' field. I wrongly assumed this would pay to my bittrex.com account, and would be identified by the memo i accompanied it with. Yes I did see the box instructions 'move to another Steem account' or similar, but assumed bittrex could be thought of as a Steem account because it deals in Steem, and I was following the tutorial after all.

enter image description here

All seemed to be going fine until I saw no payment had appeared in my wallet at Bittrex.com. I discovered my withdrawal had in fact not gone to my bitrex account but i had paid it to @bittrex instead!!!

I wonder how many people have made the same mistake. I can see no way of contacting @bittrex. The account makes no posts, has no replies, so I presume is just there to move money.

Doh!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now