It's okay to love Steemit, but stop pretending that the platform is healthy.

Jerry Banfield, the face of Steemit, just published an article boasting about how many accounts have been created here so far on Steemit.

Now, there is nothing wrong with loving Steemit. I love Steemit, but I'm not kidding myself, by going around telling everyone how great the platform is, and how well it's doing as far as user growth is concerned.

He says in his article that there's 400,000 accounts here on Steemit, and the question that I simply asked him in the comments was: How many of those accounts are actually active.

Now, from what I know, Steemit has been around since May or June of 2016, and has 400,000 accounts, of which, according to the last statisitcs article I read, only around 50,000 of those accounts were actually active users.

Now, to put that into perspective, Facebook had over a million active users in its first year, but, to be fair, Steemit is more like Reddit, and from what I hear, Reddit had to grow itself in some shady ass ways as well.

According to the lore on Wikipedia, the creators of Reddit had tons and tons of accounts, and would participate on the website through these accounts, in order to spur up some conversations.

Now, Steemit is different, because Steemit is a pay-to-win platform, so all one would have to do is buy Steem, and all of their content will show up at the top of every topic.

With that being said, it is a huge put off for many new wanderers, who just happen to stumble upon Steemit one day. There is almost no possible way to make it to the front page of Steemit without paying for Steem, which let's face it... is going to put a lot of people off.

Oh, and truth be told, I am getting a bit sick and tired of seeing the same regurgitated content at the very top of each category day in and day out, and I'm sure that you all are as well.

I love Steemit, but unless you got whale googles on, I don't really see the platform making it too far.

I mean let's keep the realism train rolling for a second, and break-down the Steem token a bit. It can only be used here on Steemit, and a few other Steem oriented platforms, which let's face it... are absolutely terrible.

DTube is horrendous, and is littered with copyrighted content.

I don't know people, I'd like to think this platform could go somewhere, but the more I am on it... the less I believe.

Anyway, since I'm not a whale, this post probably won't be seen by anyone, so I don't really know what the point was, but for all of you who still have faith in Steemit... I wish you much luck!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center