Why Ginabot rocks and catching another plagiarist

image.png

If you haven't read my post on @ginabot, stop what you are doing and check it out. I couldn't live a day without @ginabot notifications.

@ginabot is a Discord bot by @neander-squirrel that notifies you when someone mentions you, flags you, witness votes you, and many other events. I depend on it daily to keep me in the know and saves me a ton of time.

Earlier today I noticed a mention of me, which I recognized the post as one of my own.

After checking it out, I noticed it was, in fact, my post reposted by another author.

original post

2018-03-10_13-11-40.gif

stolen post

2018-03-10_09-06-25.gif

I spend a lot of time finding spammers and plagiarists, and one of the techniques used frequently is spinning text to avoid plagiarism checking. Spinning text is the process of replacing words that have the same meaning, for example replacing something like "replacing words" with "swapping words". This makes it harder to detect plagiarism, but not impossible. Upon manual inspect, it is very easy to recognize. It is a process that is usually easily automated and allows spammers to post content with even less effort than a Haejin post.

The best part is when he converted the username money-dreamer (the target of the original post) to money-visionary. That gave me a good chuckle.

Anyway, I have zero tolerance for plagiarism and stealing other people's work for profit or fame. Even more so when it is my own content or anyone's post on Steemit and repurposing it for themselves.

I immediately flagged @slamanrandhawa and started to write a post about my current situation.

Now what happened next isn't much of a surprise, I am quite used to it in fact as I have blacklisted almost 1,000 individual users from @buildawhale to date. I frequently am attacked back, but this one was quite glorious.

I received similar comments on other posts of mine, but this part stood out.

Now while having my ass hot fucked today sounds intriguing, what I found very interesting is SO WHAT BULLSHIT THEIR CAN BE NO PILGARISM DETECTION ON THAT POST. This is important as he believes because he spun the content, the content is clearly unique even when inspected manually. I'm not sure if he really believes this or is just trying to cover it up and act stupid.

Spammers know how plagiarism detection works, and likely test their own content to assure their "content" passes detection. Many of these types of spammers use automation to do this completely automated and hands off.

What is common though is their reaction to be flagged and called out. It almost always results in insults, threats, and a bundle of flags.

chrome_2018-03-10_09-29-22.png

In this case, he went down my blog and flagged everything, and hit three users I resteemed. I am not sure if he thought they were my posts or didn't care but this is also common. As usual, these users have almost no steem power so their flags are as useless as a solar-powered flashlight.

If you didn't get or remember the bundle of flags reference, it was from a previous interaction with another spammer.

Trying to stop spam and abuse on Steemit is an endless, thankless, and usually comical experience.

Why you should vote me as witness

X48EJ

themarkymark.png

My recent popular posts

The truth and lies about 25% curation, why what you know is FAKE NEWS
WTF is a hardware wallet, and why should you have one?
GINABOT - The Secret to your Sanity on Steemit
How to calculate post rewards
Use SSH all the time? Time for a big boy SSH Client
How to change your recovery account
How curation rewards work and how to be a kick ass curator
Markdown 101 - How to make kick ass posts on Steemit
Work ON your business, not in your business! - How to succeed as a small business
You are not entitled to an audience, you need to earn it!
How to properly setup SSH Key Authentication - If you are logging into your server with root, you are doing it wrong!
Building a Portable Game Console

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now