Finding my Steem “Voice” + Where Did All the Minnows Go?

Finding my Steem “Voice” (and Investing in the Platform)

A veteran of the Internet, I still have moments of mental pause when I stare at Steemit and think, what am I doing right now? It doesn’t take long to get back on track with my objectives - to scout out and curate the absolute best content. I sandwich this activity in between writing original Steem content for several hours in the early part of the day. I take curation seriously and with each day that passes I seem to find my Steemit voice.

My feed no longer looks like a cat walked over my keyboard.

IMG_4423.jpg

No matter what I do for the rest of the day, I think “I should be on Steemit right now.” I can’t tell you if it’s an exercise in work or pleasure. It yields profits yet I enjoy it immensely.

What’s more, is that my instincts feel a strong, strong pull when it comes to Steemit and to crypto. I have a sense of urgency mixed with euphoria mixed with a tiny bit of healthy terror. In terms of my natural personality, it’s a very good mix. It keeps me motivated.

Let me be clear. I have a family of five, three dogs, my own real estate business, a collaborative youtube channel with a friend and a Steemit account which I see as a dead serious venture for both personal and financial reasons.

As a person whose time is worth a lot, I see Steemit as a very valuable investment of my time.

I ran across a couple today who makes some really great videos. Their intro and graphics are polished and attractive. They lack the annoying-ness of Youtubers. They are just quietly awesome. They are PERFECT Steemians. They haven’t posted in seventeen days.

It concerns me a little that amazing new accounts aren’t investing in Steemit in an aggressive way. The exodus from other platforms does not always lead to Steemit and Dtube and, IMHO, we want those creators here among us.

Why does it seem to take so long for some folks to get in their Steemit groove? I really hope the cute couple continues to post and interact on the platform. Will they recognize the value in it or will they drop off and never post, leaving their valuable Steemit account to collect dust?

Thanks to resource accounts like Minnow Support and others, many users are making it through the learning phase on the platform and becoming strong members of the community.

How can we help more new users to navigate through the platform, find their audiences and hone their blogging craft in a way that impacts our community?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center