Steemit drops out of the top 2,000 sites

Almost since I started on Steemit over two years ago I've been keeping an eye on the web stats. This is based on Alexa data, so it may not show the whole picture, but it does show trends. When I signed up Steemit was ranked about 14,000th. It's had ups and downs since then. It fell to over 18,000 in March 2017 and climbed as high as the top 1,000 in March this year.

Hypestat

I know people can access Steem through the various 'dapps', but I suspent Steemit represents around 90% of the usage.

This has all been without any serious marketing by Steemit Inc. There has been some press coverage with stories on sites like Wired, but that doesn't seem to change much. I keep wondering if they will use some of their substantial reserves for a marketing campaign, but it won't be until they feel the platform is ready for the masses. That may be when they feel ready to remove the 'beta' tag. Perhaps this will be after Hardfork 20 which is due to happen next week, assuming the incident this week does not push it back. It may be that Steemfest could be an even bigger deal if the world gets to know that this revolutionary platform exists and they are all welcome to join.

I've been keeping an eye on any news reports about Steem/Steemit. I found this at Inside Bitcoins. They say the cause of the issue is unknown, but Steemit has blogged about it and so have others. I tried to leave a comment on that story, but I'm not sure if it worked. We should comment on such posts to show the community is active. Just keep it constructive.

Hacked reported on the pump in Steem this week that may be an effort to make someone a big profit. It hit around 87c for a short while, but has fallen a bit since then along with many other coins. It will be interesting to see what effect the Hardfork has on the price.

6wixzsqvay.png

Steem on!


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency