More good news for Steemit - The Astrology community are starting to come over, and other stuff...

IMG_0055.JPG

I have been now on Steemit for about 2 weeks, and since I was accepted one can already see the incredibly huge potential that this platform has got. Trust me, it's mind blowing. The premise that you could be rewarded for the time that you spent writing, or photographing, composing or being creative is a hugely attractive one, and it is slowly starting to gain traction. Steemit was the subject of a discussion on Facebook in a post about how best to promote your work that I noticed a few weeks ago, and on the back of one comment, I decided to check Steemit out. I am so glad that I did and I am slowly learning the ropes as it is very different to what I am used to.

I do think that to build up some kind of profile you have to have a hard head and be less discriminating in what work that you initially support, and I wish this wasn't necessary. So many of the big guns or" whales" on here are financially driven, and those of us who are more inspired by belief or talent will struggle, simply because there are no whales who lead the way in subjects like Astrology, the one where I have expertise. I have little to no interest in Blockchains and Cryptocurrencies, they mean little to me as I don't understand the premise of how it works, but to make your way up on Steemit, it seems to me that it's a must that you follow the leaders. Along the way, I hope that those who run this site find some way of levelling the playing field, and allowing those with other talents to rise as well. I do think already that there is too much power in the hands of too few, and this could be an impediment to future growth on Steemit. This is the one weakness that I sense, and some kind of control mechanism must be found to make sure that those at the top can fall off their perch, and allow others to replace them through hard work, or talent, or both...

Nevertheless, I am adjusting to the new way of working over here, however I can gladly inform you all that many of the Astrologers that I converse with are coming over to swell the numbers. In the future as things develop I can see distinct communities building on Steemit, be it the Crypto guys, the photographers, the musicians and lovers of art, the writers and bloggers, the spiritualists and the sports lovers. As my community and the people I have conversed with start to swap over to Steemit, as they will, then I can see this place being the premiere social media site. Yes, I do think that Steemit is unique in it's conception and being the first of it's type combining social media and digital currencies is simple and yet genius in nature.

One word of warning though. Let's hope that Zuckerberg doesn't try to wipe Steemit out by waving a big cheque book in front of the creators and owner's eyes. That's what he'll do, try and buy out Steemit so that Facebook can eliminate the competition that we here pose to his domination. We number only 750,000 but the threat to Facebook is very clear, trust me they know it, and they will be monitoring Steemit's progress very carefully. I only hope that everyone who is responsible for Steemit can hold their nerve when this eventually happens, and allow this amazing community to grow and grow. In this we all have to stand together, support each other, and stick two fingers up to Zuckerberg when he comes calling...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center