[FAKE PROFILES AT STEEMIT!] POSSIBLE SCAMMERS HAVE FOUND US! BEWARE!

Hey Again, Steemitizens!

Yep, I am a little mad right now!

I came to steemit, because in my 30+ years in tech, I always dreamed of such a place. And here it is, in all it's baby glory, just learning to crawl, and with so much potential ahead! I'm so proud to be a part of it in it's infancy.

But we are getting bigger as a community now every day, with around 2-10K new users arriving daily and with the size, comes unwanted attention.

Especially when you dangle out the "free money!" carrot on a stick, right?

I often cruise the #introduceyourself posts looking for new and interesting people to follow and befriend. I am very selective and will often spend an entire evening, reading or scanning through dozens of new minnow posts, looking for the signals in the noise.

Tonight I just found this and issued my first two post flags EVER on the system. I don't believe in censorship and I don't care what you write because if it doesnt suit me, I know how to find the next post and move on. Not my problem to police the world's content.

Except!

This is not "content" - this is somebody working up towards something nefarious. There is absolutely no other reason to make two identical introduceyourself posts, only changing the name and the pictures.

The only possible positive reason I could think of for this post setup, was a foreign language couple who had one intro post translated to some broken English and shared it for each of them, which would be fine, but the one guy opens with "Hello Chicas!" and the female one sounds pretty single too. Imagine that!

Judge and... flag... for yourselves. We don't need this false Facebook style bullshit here. Sorry for cursing, but I warned you in my first sentence, I am mad! We who believe in this system work HARD for this system and our community and it's users. I will not stand around and watch it be bastardized by faker foolishess and neither should you.

Watch for this sort of thing, It's going to get worse as we grow. Use your brains, check out your followers now and then and see who they are, and why they might be following you. Don't want to see anyone here get catfished, stalked, or bothered at all so it's up to us the community to work together to prevent it.

SCAMMER POST ONE
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@omars/hello-steemit-community

SCAMMER POST TWO
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@karlala/hello-steemit-community

Pay attention, and flag when it makes sense to you!

Teem work makes the steem dreem work!

Be safe! I'm starting to care about you guys and gals, and this place as if you were family and this was our home. Because you are, and it is, and this is ours.

Protect the community and each other! Flag scam and suspicious posts!

And just like that, this post is over.

Full steem ahead, steemitizens!

@sircork

Creator of https://SteemChallenge.com: Steemit's first contest, game and challenge directory.

SteemChallenge Beta Testing is underway as of June 21, 2017!


The #MinnowSupportNetwork is a minnows best new friend(s!)

#MinnowSupportNetwork #MinnowSupport #PAL

Find us on Chat with the PAL/Minnow Support Project peeps at:
https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center