[DELEGATION GIVEAWAY] Are There Still Motivated Newcomers To Support?

14 days ago, I offered to delegate some of my SP to people who are struggling with RC. I still have 4 spots to fill. Can it be really that hard to find newcomers in trouble?

redfish rockets question.jpg
Source

Where Is Everyone?

Two weeks ago, I launched the 4th edition of the Redfish Rocket Contest.
The idea behind this contest is to help new Steemians to overcome their RC issues by delegating some of my Steem Power to them.

Since the first three editions were quite a success, I was surprised to see that after an entire week, only 1 person had nominated someone.

I contacted the nominee myself, and - because her posts were mainly in Spanish - I asked @celinavisaez to contact her too to explain. (Again, you're the best, @celinavisaez!)
I didn't receive a reply...

dividerlines.png

Searching

So, I started to search for candidates myself. I had seen a couple of posts from the @heyhaveyamet initiative before, and it looked like a good place to start.

In case you haven't heard of the @heayhaveyamet initiative, let me introduce you to it.

It's an account run by @brittandjosie and @xcountytraveler and the main goal is to find quality intros that are posted by new Steemians and give them a little more exposure.

So I went through a couple of their posts, and found some really interesting people, who would be perfect candidates to receive a delegation and be able to make a decent start here on SteemIt.

It was sad to see that most of them had made only 2 or 3 posts and then disappeared again. I contacted a few of them, but none of them replied. They were really gone.

So I started the comb the #introduceyourself tag myself. I spent hours to find only a couple of quality introduction posts. Again, I sent out messages, and again, I received no replies.

dividerlines.png

Are We In Trouble?

That's about the only thing I can conclude. I knew that after HF20 even more users than before left before they even got started, but I didn't realize it was this bad.

If nothing is done to free newcomers from the limitations set by the lack of Resource Credits, only the 'veterans' will remain. And without new blood coming in, the platform - and its DApps, for all that matters - will not be sustainable.

There might be another reason for the lack of redfish in need, though. One that is actually very positive.
Because of the low price of Steem, many people are buying to power up and get rid of the RC problem.
I don't have the numbers to check whether this is true or not, but the idea gives me a little bit of hope.

dividerlines.png

One

There are other delegation giveaways running. Like the weekly contest @thedarkhorse is running. (You can find his latest giveaway here.)

These delegation giveaways aren't a lot more successful than mine was. Most comments are posted by veterans who are thankful for taking such an initiative.

The number of comments from candidates is really low.

I did find one candidate through @thedarkhorse's contest, though. Since @thedarkhorse only picks one winner, I took the liberty of checking out the profiles of the others. That's how I found @nurseanne84, a very active blogger who wanted to engage with the community more. She had already received a delegation from @crypto.piotr, but I added a little to it, so she now has 100SP and can post and interact as much as she pleases.

@nurseanne84, I haven't told you yet, but you will also receive a vote from me on one post each day, so you'll be able to grow your account a little faster.

So that's how @nurseanne84 became my first Redfish rocket.

dividerlines.png

4 To Go

Since I initially planned to give away 5 delegations for at least 6 weeks, there are still 4 spots left.
Feel free to apply, or to nominate someone. You can find all information in the original post.

go for it.gif

Basic Requirements:

  • You currently have 60SP or less (including delegations).

  • You post regularly - at least 2 times a week should be doable.

  • You actively engage with other people in the community through voting, commenting and replying to comments.

  • You power up what you earn.

  • You haven't powered down before.

Meanwhile, I'm going to keep on searching.

Who would have ever thought it would be so difficult to find people to help out?



signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe Ro RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


JOIN THE DISCORD


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center