The relationship between Steem price and upvote value?

I got a new question... a few weeks ago a 100% upvote of mine was worth almost 0,1 USD. Not it is worth appx. 50% of that value. What makes the value go down? Is it directly influenced by the actual Steem price, meaning that the value of my upvote is influenced by the Steem price?

For example:
If my upvote is worth 0,05 today, would it be worth 0,1 tomorrow if the Steem price doubled this night? Or, would it be worth half of today's worth if the cryptomarket would fall apart in the night and the Steem price would go down to half the value it has today?

I guess there are other things influencing the value of my upvote, but I just want to know whether the actual Steem price influences the value of my upvote as well!

question about steem.jpg
Source: Pixabay

Sorry for this stupid question, but just want to learn more about the platform and how it works!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center