3 of my Steemit Pet Peeves - I'd Like to Hear Yours!

angry-2191104_1280.jpg

Let me start by saying that I love Steemit and the people here. There is so much creativity and positivity here that it makes it fun to not only post on Steemit, but also to interact with other people. It's also a pleasure to be exposed to all of the different talents that everyone has. From poetry to photography, to culinary, to music, and everything else, there is so much to learn here.

Having said that, there ARE some things that I have noticed happening more and more that do bother me a little bit. They aren't really a big deal, but in my mind, they fall more into the etiquette category. Things that people are doing that in my mind are not right. Here's a few of them.

Commenting on My Posts and Leaving a Link to Your Post

If I want to read your post I will follow you. I might even find your post in the post promotion section of Steemit Chat. But please do not comment on my post with a link to yours. You are obviously just commenting on mine to get an upvote, and to me that isn't cool. Comment on my post because you are interested in it, because you loved it, because you hated it, because you agree or because you disagree, not because you are begging for uproots on your post.

Direct Messaging on Steemit Chat Asking for Upvotes

If I see your post in the post promotion section of Steemit Chat, I will check it out and upvote if it seems interesting to me. That's what the post promotion section is for. I don't need a bunch of direct messages asking me to check out your post. I'll tell you right now that if you do that, I WON'T be checking out your post. Keep the post promoting in the post promotion section and I might have a look at what you do.

Unwarranted Bragging About Your Followers

I've seen many posts where people are bragging about their 500 followers, or their 1000 followers....which is cool and all, but does it really count if you followed 5000 people just to get 500 follows back? I want people to follow me because they are interested in what I have to say. I want people to follow me because they support my work and appreciate the time and effort that I put into it. I have 500 followers but I follow less than 500 back. It's not a badge of honour to follow 5000 people just to get 500 follows back. You are not going to build a true following that is interested in you and your work by doing it that way.

As I said above, these are just small things that annoy me. Do you have any Steemit pet peeves that you'd like to share?


Thanks to Pixabay for the image.

Scott Gardiner

I am Scott. I write poetry and lyrics and sometimes I write about life. Please upvote and follow. Find out more at my website or connect with me on Facebook.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center