What Are Your Views About Resteeming (Reblogs)? Is it a spammy feature or a good promotion tool?

I have been doing a few bits of research on this , without paying particular attention to monetary value, to see if it actually works on increasing my views. 

(Remember I am a mere minnow with almost 4000 steam.) This is relevant and I will tell you why in a moment. 

And yes it does, on posts where I have been resteemed, which is great because I want my work read not just upvoted (although of course that is nice)

Anyway I am a fan of resteeming good content because I feel that's what our community should be about but I have also learned that there is side effects to the resteeming. 

@hndmarshall did a little experiment here which suggests resteeming can add value.

Check it out here

But from observations of quite a few bigger accounts, they do not appear to resteem due to it clogging up blogs. Maybe it happens alot with smaller fish but its more noticeable with bigger blogs. The question is, is keeping their blogs clean helping the community of steemit OR is keeping their blogs clean helping the whales identify good content?

Pros and cons as I see them

Pros 

  • It creates alot more visiblity AND helps less visible content to be promoted
  • It can enhance your blog if it is in the same genre (People know where to look to find tarot- as an example)
  • It helps you to go back and find a post you really like
  • It can boost your curation if you upvoted first and it becomes a popular post

Cons

  • It can get really spammy with some just resteeming for the sack of it.
  • Your blog can get cluttered if not managed correctly
  • Bigger fish may choose to upvote your reblogs rather than yours if they come across your page.
  • Your posts may get lost by resteemed posts

I would like to think in a community blogging site that we would also use these feature to promote others in social relationship building. I am hoping that I will not fall into the trap of losing my faith in resteeming because of the cons however I can see why it would put people off, especially if you have a lot to loose.


What is your thoughts? Are you a fan or not ?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center