I just turned to a DOLPHIN | 我成為了海豚啦!

I never thought I would become a DOLPHIN so fast!


dolphin3.jpg


Today, I logged into my Home Page and look what I see on my banner header:

dolphin20130404.png

It's been almost 8 months since I joined Steemit. I only became more active last year since October after my trip to Dubai and Turkey. So if we subtract those 2 months, my journey to becoming a Dolphin is a little bit less than half a year.

For those of you who are finding yourself struggling along as a plankton or minnow, take heart. I came into Steemit without any prior knowledge of how the platform works at all. Like you, I learned the ropes along the way as I got involved with different communities watching how other Steemians succeed. That is how I created my own path to becoming a dolphin today. So I want to share important tips to newbies so that in half a year time, you can join my rank also. I will be waiting for you.

7 Hot Tips to Becoming a Dolphin

1. Talk to your audience

When you blog on Steemit, you need to know your followers. In the beginning, I just blogged about anything that came into my head. I was not getting any votes because I was actually just talking to myself. Your followers are not interested in listening to your self-talk. You have an audience. Your audience is the Steemit community and your core groups are your followers. So as you write your blogs, reach out to them. When they give you upvotes and comments, always comment back to build engagement.

I put this Tip as #1 as I feel this is the most important aspect that will give you a big breakthrough to succeed on Steemit. With this attitude, your passion on the Steemit platform will show, and you cannot but succeed.

While this tip seems very straightforward and simple, when I read newbies Steemit blogs, I discover that most Steemian newbies neglect this simple aspect as they blog.

2. Have Correct expectations to succeed

Many people come into Steemit and expect to earn their way to success in 3 months. When they don't succeed, they give up. Have you ever heard of anyone succeeding in a business in 3 months time? When we start on Steemit, we don't need to invest any money to begin with. It is free. Know that any SBD or Steem power that you earn are all EXTRAS.

I remember in the beginning when I was blogging away everyday, I was not expecting much but perhaps just 1 SBD. Is this how you think? Well, that 1 SBD never came for a long time. I was lucky to get about .05 SBD. If you are new, you are getting .05 SBD it is very good already. That is how things work as you work towards being a 'dolphin'. You are getting noticed by some people who are upvoting your posts.

Know that all these .05 SBD are EXTRA reward for you.

Don't demand upvotes. When people see your quality and hard work, the upvotes will come in hundreds. That day will come!

3. Build up your Steem Power

Powering up is the way to move up in ranks to become a dolphin.

Do not be in a hurry to take money out. I never did. We are here to build up the Steemit community. As I said, everything that you earn on Steemit are EXTRAS. Let everything stay on the Steemit platform so that you can experience how things work here. If you are in a hurry to withdraw money, you will never succeed on Steemit.

You also don't need to put money in to become a dolphin. I never did. If you never put money in, there is no need to take money out.

Set your mind to creating a high quality profile to help the Steemit community to grow. For your first year, invest into the Steemit platform by powering up. You can encourage other newbies or veterans by giving your votes, even when it is only a couple of cents in the beginning. Everything counts. I remember when I was a Kindle publisher, my ebooks were selling at a few cents but all the cents accumulated to becoming hundreds and thousands.

As you move to becoming a dolphin, you will discover that your influence on the platform becomes greater as you bring momentum to reward yourself and others to creating high quality material.

4. Be honest, transparent and helpful

If you want followers who are honest, transparent and helpful, be this kind of person yourself. If you are crooked and nasty, you will draw those kind of followers.

5. Curate everyday and Vote high-quality posts

We are here to build up a Steemit community with engaging high quality material. We all know who they are because their posts become very outstanding. Their posts may not be on the trending and hot pages right away, nor are they given thousands of votes in the beginning. Slowly, they come up in the horizon and everyone notices them. Their posts, like this one, are well thought out with insights to give value to people's lives.

When you see these posts, upvote them.

6. Delegate your SP to help others to succeed

If you want to succeed, don't just think of your own empire and build up your own SP.

Believe me, you succeed when others succeed.

Don't hoard all the SP to yourself. Be a little bit generous and help others to grow their SP. I remember when I first came on board, I had only about 150 SP. At that time, I didn't know how things worked. I saw someone doing a great project, so I delegated 1/3 of what I had at that time and gave them 50 SP.

I've delegated to different projects on the Steemit community. At present 800 SP had been delegated to help other projects to grow.

If you want to become a dolphin, you MUST do the same.

So what if it takes you a bit longer to become a dolphin? We are not here in a race. Opportunities are all around you to give you cues to become a dolphin. Delegate your SP to others and soon you see that your own SP grows too. It is magic. That's how things work. You don't succeed by hoarding all the SP to yourself. At least, this is my experience.

7. Be a good steward of your SP - Never waste your SP daily votes

Last year, when I was away to Dubai and Turkey, I didn't make good use of the SP that I had. I was busy traveling and therefore did not upvote anyone. I didn't have time to do this at all. Imagine weeks went by and my daily SP to upvote were all wasted.

So like me, when you are on business trips, or gone for a holiday, you can delegate your SP so that they don't go wasted.

Or recently, I have joined the Smart Steem Team. I was away for camp, so I let smartsteem to upvote posts for me so that my daily SP do not go wasted. You can do the same too.

SmartsteemTeam.png

You can see that I am also in the team too. I work with them to curate Steemit profiles that are of quality. We only whitelist Steemians who provide value to the platform. Steemians can be given 1, 2 or 3 stars depending on their quality and value they provide to enhance the Steemit platform. For those who plagiarize and spam Steemit, they do not get whitelisted and even go on the blacklist. So it is save to hand over your votes for Smartsteem to vote for you on occasions you cannot do your own curation.

You want to become a dolphin?

  • I just became a dolphin during this month that I worked on the Smartsteem platform.
  • You can click onto the following link and join me
  • https://smartsteem.com?r=rosatravels
  • this is my referral link as I want to build a healthy community of passionate Steemians
  • your name will appear on my referral dashboard if you use my link to join
  • when I see your name, I will certainly look at your posts to either give you comments to improve or to put you on my upvoting list. :)

Thousands have joined us, so do not be left behind!

Follow the above 7 TIPS and you cannot but succeed!
This is my path to Dolphin.

Join me to become a dolphin,
Rosa

P.S. I would be amiss if I didn't give credit to people who had given me the needed boosts when I first came into Steemit:

@ned for creating this community platform for us to thrive together.
@onceuponatime for being the first one to upvote my earlier post with 20+ SBD
@sweetsssj for the great blogging tips when I first started and support
@kevinwong for the constant support
@elear for creating the uotpian.io platform for us to contribute to open source projects
@utopian-io for rewarding my contributions which I am forever grateful
@ruah for being such a fantastic supervisor at Utopian
@therealwolf for having me on their smartsteem team


Hope you have enjoyed reading this post. Upvote, Comment and Resteem if you like this post.
谢谢你的阅读!希望你喜欢。如果你喜欢我的分享, 请跟随我。

You can contact me at Utopian here: https://utopian.io/@rosatravels
You can contact me at Steemit here: https://steemit.com/@rosatravels
You can contact me at my Website here: http://LearnPianoWithRosa.com/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center