Initial Thoughts On Steemit After A Week Or So

I really hope Steemit takes off in the way I think it will. I love the disruptive nature of this platform.

I love the way you are rewarded for great content, curation, and engagement. That's the way it should be. 

Compare Steemit to blogging

In the early 2000s great content did find its way to the top. And the internet was a great and quirky place.

Now, the internet is great, but it ain't quirky.

Around about 2012 something happened. Google gave up on being a search engine and decided to rank only big brand websites in their popular search results. Now, sadly, only 16 core companies dominate the most popular Google search results

Social media sites are no better. 

Compare Steemit to other platforms

Let's look at Facebook, for example.  

Not only you have to work for Facebook by providing your best content, they also whore out your information to advertisers, you get served ads, you and your content effectively makes other people rich – you also have to pay Facebook to get seen by your following.

Steemit wins hands down

Not only are you rewarded in cash for your best content but you are also rewarded for positive engagement.

While other online platforms tend to have a lot of bubbles and flame wars,  Steemit rewards positive engagement with people even if you don't share their opinions.

Steemit really does have a great and supportive community

I started blogging in 2006 and it was years and years before I made money. So I don't expect to make money straight away from Steemit. 

But I'm going to hang around here for the long term and see what happens.

I always believe it’s worth to try something new consistently and for a while otherwise you’ll never really get to understand anything. 

That's how I see Steemit after a week or so or hanging on this platform. 

And I gotta thank Steemian @fredrikaa for his inspiration.

What do you think? Let me know in the comments. 

Keep Calm, And Steem On. 

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center