Celebrating Milestones : 400+ followers 50+ reputation & Yet another steemit Community in kenya Meet-up #3


image source

Cheers all and join me in celebrating my small milestones


When I joined steemit last year in August, I saw people with posts saying they were celebrating 400 followers. I envied them. I wished for the time I would be at 50+ reputation, 400 followers, a point where I would get to withdraw some money from steemit and show my friends how real this is. I am at that point. I have withdraw money twice, this helped a lot to supplement my income. I have more than 400 followers , a reputation of 51 and 600+ posts . I am happy but still keeping up to go higher. Now my note books are filled wit ideas for posts, Calculations as i try to understand some concepts. Not to mention I am now dreaming about steemit.

What I am mostly happy about (I am bubbling with joy as I write this) is the spirit of togetherness in this community. The spirit of belonging. Anytime I log on to steemit to either write or show other writers some love (upvotes and comments) I lose track of time by how I get glued to the screen. Reading, learning and creating connections. This has become part of my daily routine for the last four months. I have remained consistent and I have persisted and it is paying off.

I want to say thank you for all those who have supported me this far. All my followers; A big Thank you, those who have supported my posts Thank you Steemitke community @jeanwandimi @cmbugua @sirkim @wachera @deniskj to mention a few. You have been pillars I cannot thank enough. Some additional mention to this community that I met in our last meet-up @stbrians you rock thank you for making the trip and @slyviam.

How I made it this far


It has been said time and time again consistency and persistency makes all the difference. But on steemit you have to realise your value. You need to offer value to gain value. This has been my motto. Offer Value and after that offer more value.
Other things that I have constantly done.

  1. Participated in a few contests
  2. Quality comments
  3. Creating connections/Networks on steemit and off steemit, Our kenyan Community, Discord servers( loads of servers here. When you join one follow the rules , and for crying out loud, don't join and keep quiet. only bots will notice you joined. People need to hear some noise or read something from you to know you are there. Atrer that remain active, or you will get booted from some of them)
  4. Reference, site, credit, anything you write. Please give credit where it is due.
  5. Have fun. If you feel you ain't having some fun, or you are taking yourself too seriously. You might just drown here. Play with words and have fun. Believe me this will be good for you content.

Advice to all newbies


You have joined, feeling so happy to be here, your introduction posts makes some little cash. You think now the net is going to make a killing. But no, you get nothing. Worse still you are the only to vote on the post. Don't give up. You are new. Remember you still haven't in a way gotten the hang of things. A few things I feel you should look into before a next post are.

  1. Using Markdown. There is a guide link see image above. This will teach you how to format your posts. Spend some time learning it, you will thank me for it.

  2. Using images: steemit is not colourful. The way to add colour is by using images. Still do not include very low resolution images. could be your undoing.

  3. Relevant tags: These ensure that your content is visible. You could use some country tags, general tags (life, art), community tags #steemitbloggers #teamgirlpowa for example. Remember if a post is not about a certain tag unless it is a community tag it has no business being in your tags. Using tags like #steemit when you are not talking about steemit could get you flagged (this is bad for your reputation)

  4. Learn some etiquette for the platform. Some things are highly frowned upon. Upvote and comment begging. Let people decide to upvote or comment on your posts.

My goals for 2018


Since I cannot keep quite about steemit and the changes that it has brought to my life in the last few months. I created a few steemit related goals for the new year.

  1. Introduce at least two people to steemit each month. This month I am at number four. Two have their accounts approved, they have also started writing. @y-sandra and @mboroto89 welcome. Do not give up.
  2. Create a few self help topic posts for people joining . I have introduced a few people to steemit and I believe this would help them learn a lot, even though I might have to keep repeating.
  3. Participate 100% in the growth plans for steemit community in Kenya. I love this guys, so I am dedicating part of my time in doing that including out @boosterke project. Please look at it and support us to grow.
  4. Have fun, write quality posts and some few videos documenting what we are doing here in kenya.

Our Kenyan community goal and commitment


Our last meet-up on Saturday was magical. Join me in recognising and appreciating @stbrians for travelling 400kms during the night so as to attend this meet-up. This is what we call real dedication. You are going places. We also had a new member join us @slyviam and we hope that you learned alot from us because we learned from you. We hope to keep this fire burning and move forward with greater strides. As always thank you @jeanwandimi for bringing us together.

In our Kenyan community we have a discord server join us here a total of 35 members so far and growing, We have had a few projects like creating branded Tshirts which we did. See my post and @jeanwandimi posts on the following links [here]https://steemit.com/promo-steem/@mutitum/making-the-steemitke-tshirts-for-our-meet-up-today-what-an-experience-i-will-share-it-with-a-video-too) and here. This are our plans for the year.

  1. Grow the community to over 300 members (I cannot wait to celebrate this milestone)
  2. Grow our Minnow Support Curation Service for Steem Kenya [#steemke] @boosterke
  3. Meet-ups twice a month, focussing on recruiting and training new members as well as an avenue for the old members to share their ideas on how to grow. Watch out for meetup announcements from @jeanwandimi.

Thank you for visiting my blog. Join me next time for more.

Here are some causes and projects I follow and support

Steemit_In_Kenya.png


boosterke.png
@boosterke for SteemitKe



APP.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center