Viking compass tattoo, meaning

A few days ago I had to do a tattoo, what caught my attention, and until now, I was curious to investigate about it, and it is this one here:
33207337_2147501761944830_5135023570082070528_n.jpg

It is a Viking Compass also called Vegvisir even what is more related to the Icelandic symbolism, apparently it was considered a magic symbol but for more use what was given was more than anything a solar compass circular shape which has different possible directions mark

It is a symbol of help, and a guide for people during problems or bad times is also called by different names such as "guide post", "Direction Sign", or "Viking Compass".

Among the Viking or Scandinavian culture this symbol is one of the best known

It is said that this symbol is a magical reference since it appears in an Icelandic book of magic called Galdrabok. It is a grimoire, a kind of book of magical knowledge very popular among the High Middle Ages and the seventeenth century that contained astrological references, listings of Angels, demons and mythological creatures.

It is said that whoever carried this symbol, tattooed, or in the form of an amulet would never lose its way in the face of storms or temporary problems.

That was it, I really researched it properly, and I would like to know what you think about it, if you know something about this topic, I would like to know a little more! :)

I hope you like it:)

I also hope you like the tattoo what I did

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now