Cliches

garrhet-sampson-178990.jpg

I finished Tools and Titans by Tim Ferris the other day. Holy crap. What a book. It's action packed with life lessons by incredible people. I've already started re-reading it and tomorrow I'll go pick up the most mentioned books. I'm a big fan of Tim Ferris. He walks the walk. Not enough people do that anymore. Do something, it's gratifying. Stop talking about it and walk the walk. You'll have more energy. You'll be happier. I've been happier in the last few months after starting my online store, Invictus Beard.

I've already digressed.

The reason I mentioned ToT is because of a quote I recall about clichés. I'm recalling from memory here so bare with me but what I understood from the quote is "Don't just push clichés aside." Really meditate and think about them because they are incredible reminders. They've become clichés because they are true.

Let's think about a common cliché for a moment. "Eat more vegetables". Everyone says this. If you're trying to get fit, no doubt you have said this to yourself, yet we push it aside. We don't really think about it or follow through with it.

Full disclosure here: I am a vegetarian. It's been 7 months now. Nonetheless, I think the cliché is valid because once I started to eat more vegetables I lost 15 pounds even though I was visiting the gym less. Efficient.

I'm Turkish and we love ourselves some 'Ata Sozu' (Turkish Proverbs). There is one for everything it seems. Obviously, the older generation that have grown up in Turkey know more than me but whenever they mention one I'm thinking "Holy crap, that's so true."

Since I've begun meditating I think deeper about these things. I've started to think about Turkey as a country compared to Canada, where I grew up, besides the 4 years I spent in Brooklyn (literally put the bit about Brooklyn in to annoy my friends).

Canada is a younger country. Turkey has a longer history. So think about this for a second. We've been told that stories always last throughout the years. In any culture it seems the grandparents tell stories and tales. Well, another quote from ToT "The good shit sticks".

I think that's why there are so many Turkish proverbs and clichés. It's because these are some of the lessons that have been passed down that have become cliché.

Now, the cliché I really want to discuss. "Dream big". It's a cliché. It's a big cliché.

Again, just think about this for a moment here. Dream big.

So simple.

If we continually tell ourselves, I will work for 40-45 years at a 9-5 and then retire when I'm 65 then guess what happens? That happens. You retire at 65 after years of being stuck in traffic, years of being stuck in the office. I think continually telling yourself something is your dream. It should become your goal.

Think and Grow Rich by Neopolian Hill literally asks the readers to come up with a goal. Think of a time frame to achieve it by and repeat it to yourself aloud. Every morning, every night.

The richest people in the world do it. Daymond John does it and he recommends Think and Grow Rich so that's where I figure he got this idea from.

You get from life what you ask of it. This is more evident to me now than ever. I'm dreaming bigger. I'm asking for more.

I read T&GR 6 or so months ago and I've been doing this ever since. Reading my goals aloud to myself. Sure I miss a few mornings, a few nights, a few days but I always make sure to get back to it.

I've changed my goals as well. I now have two for family, short and long term. I have one for my financial future. I have one for my health. I have one for Invictus Beard. I have one for my career at Bazinga.

Dream Big. A cliché.

I've begun to do it. I don't know if this cliché has been handed down from generation to generation. I don't even know if it works yet but I definitely see a difference in my own attitude. I see a difference in the way I think, the way I carry myself, the way I envision my future.

I'm asking for more out of life now. Life is too short. We don't realize how short it is until it's too late. Maybe these thoughts are past my 25 years but I'm glad I'm having them now. I realize this great journey is going to come to an end. At one point - 100, 200, 1000 years from now - nothing of me will be left, has been eye opening.

I will do my absolute best to squeeze everything I can out of life. Enjoy small moments. Enjoy time with my family, friends, Niko. Travel. Eat great. Drink well. Meet people. Hear their stories.

It all started with a cliché for me to realize that maybe my goals aren't even big enough.

Think about other clichés that you've been passing off. Not putting any thought to. Something very important may be hiding right there under your nose disguised as a cliché.

My big dreams have become big goals with real dates. I know the dates off by heart. I know how long I have to achieve my goals.

Dream big then dream bigger. Ask more out of life. You may actually wind up getting what you ask for. That's my hope. We'll see if it actually pans out.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now