Between mandarinism and arrogance

servilismo2.jpg
Source: carlos-cifuentes.blogspot.com.co

#Exclusion #Academy [English translation... sorry not my native language]

Reminiscing some chapter in my law school college life long time ago... i found the real importance about discussing the world reality nowadays.

I am celebrating my first week in this marvelous community named #Steemit and as a noobie i am trying to catch up rapidly in comparison with planktons, belugas, or whatever those riches are (looking forward to be one of them!!)... I thought it was worthy to translate so on my blogs in both spanish and english based language (although I really apologize for my english language really, but will do my best effort anyway).

In this time, as in my spanish blog were stated, i will expose some of the college enviroment i face in my home country Colombia, basically in order to understand how norms and social relations work out in real life... This analisis has been extremely helpful in the upcoming years due to the fact it was just a trial battlefield in comparison with the real dynamics experienced in life. Specially, as in American and European colleges has been facing these years as well, the liberal mainstream political ideology is the silent tyranny behind the scenes the entire time... That liberal mantra tends to be pretty hypocritical if I may judge...

In my university were many kleptocratic behaviours between professors, staff and students, but form time to time it is time to break off that tradition... And I made it in my 6th semester, having an Statistics exam. I wasn't able to hand over the exam in the deadline (just for 10 seconds) and the professor in a selfish way just crossed a zero off my exam paper. I was in shock... Accordingly, my advocacy impetu lead me to communicate the professor i was going to use the Students' Codebook in order to establish a fully fair process, which I haven't had until then.

With my codebook knowledge i was able to draft a pretty decent defense and with that I issue a complaint, then the professor got scared, he never thought i was effectively going to do it. It was pretty efficient and the results were immediately and I got my grade recovered, the professor just withdraw the file.

What could Pierre Bourdieu, the french sociologist and philosopher, may think about it? where the power would be located in that social scope? Is a good question i'd rather ask.

bourdieu.jpg
source: azquotes.com

Precisely, Bourdieu argues the primary source of disctinction (in-ward and out-ward) between social sectors. Bourdieu is pretty famous for his theories in his book "The Force of Law: Toward a Sociology of the Juridical Field", where he asserts the power within the education capital inside human intertwined relations. In the law scope, as in hegemony in Hegel, there are a permanent struggle for dominance between individuals in society, for instance the monopoly of norms issuance or interpretation. The power lies in the possession of the legal knowledge and is present worlwide in every scale, the power may manifest in a real way or in a simbolic way, and is the last one which take us the political control in our society, through human-crafted norms of behaviours.

This force relations create differences between intelligentsia and the rest of people, whom participating in the issuance, interpretation and implementations of legal dynamics are those best fit to resolve conflicts in our social framework (that is named the mistifycation of law). The rest of mortals, the students in this case, are just passive agents awaiting for the Matrix to comply norms 24/7 in our society, those profane people are tagged as ignorants, because they cannot control the technical language in Law. In our college exists the permanent control institutions, and in those cases we have seen the "Ombudsperson" staff who try to sort it out inter-personal issues, but in cases where is student vs. college, obviously the university staff might not be your BFF.

That real example allows us to understand thoroughly the Bourdieu's theory about social scopes and the power interacting between each other, those who are hierarchical located in the top of society tends to have the tools necessary to acquire some legal advisory (if they are not lawyers themselves) but lower-paid sector of the society couldn't be able to have that kind of services, loosing almost entirely its rights in the system.

Finally, it is my pleasure to Quote Frank Underwood, season finale 1 in #HouseofCards, when dougs ask him about his plans to possess the power of the U.S. presidency, and the starring actor says: - There is just one rule, HUNT or be HUNTED, and that could express perfectly the dynamics presents in the real life inertia.

Ps: An Steemit start up initiative to give students some basics "Disciplinary Law 1.01 for Dummies" blog could be very useful for youngs worldwide in every country in every corner of the planet... Keep connect, and thank you for your support....

I AM RESPECTING COPYRIGHTS

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center