Well, Now I Feel Foolish

Much of my excitement about Steemit over the last 9 or so months has been in many ways tied to Dan Larimer's genius. He invented things here like the savings and the recovery accounts that no other public/private key system had. It's beautiful. Every time he created a pull request or an issue ticket, I'd be impressed with his thoroughness, vision, and intelligence.

I agree with so much of Dan's philosophy. I cheered on his Evil Plan for Cryptocurrency World Domination. I saw Steemit as a very real solution against the monopoly powers of government.

And now that's all gone. Dan has resigned.

I'm sad. I'm a little angry. I feel like a fool. I trusted in this platform and believed in it's long-term goals in great part because I thought Dan would be doing really great things here. Things beyond just technology, but creating a platform for practical freedom.

Now I don't know what to think. I've been one of the biggest cheerleaders for Steemit. Losing a co-founder abruptly like this... that's not good. Just recently I was making an argument for Steemit being around in 10 years. I hope I don't have to eat those words.

For all those haters and doubters who told me in chat I shouldn't trust Dan or that Steemit is a joke and doesn't have a future... Well, I may have to hear your I told you so depending on how this all pans out.

I'm going to bed.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center