The downside of over tokenization

Surprising title here given that I am a supporter of the cause overall. Even more so now that Dan and the EOS team keep sharing their ideas and new organizational models.

images.duckduckgo.com (732x720).jpg

That said, I came across a great article from a dutch think tank that I wanted to share.

The trend is towards the tokenization of the world. It started with digital assets (software) for store of value, means of exchange, utilities. More interestingly, other forms of value are being turned into tokens, including the tokenization of likes, reputation, data-sharing, volunteer work, and charity. Do we stop, if so where?

https://www.dasym.com/downside-radical-tokenization/

Please read the whole thing but one point I would like to highlight is the following:

"Within the context of data-sharing, one could imagine that privacy becomes a matter of being rich, as poor people will probably sell their data to get by, whereas rich people can buy their privacy."

The article is very short and I'd like everyone's input on the topic. Let me know your thoughts!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now