Steemit vs Social Media

I've been wandering around Steemit the past few weeks, trying to soak it all in. So very much to learn and absorb! I can't help comparing Steemit to the social media platforms I've used for business and personal interactions.

Photo credit: AlisonQuine on VisualHunt.com/CC BY-NC-ND

One thing I've noticed in my Steemian travels is how very different it is from FaceBook and Twitter and InstaGram. Simply put, the feeling I get reading posts and interacting with my fellow Steemians in post comments and Discord channels makes me feel good.

I feel like I'm part of the world, not just a tiny corner of a "social platform". I can read posts about the daily life of people from Borneo to Brussels, take in photo journeys from crowded streets to quiet forests. I can learn new things in any subject I can think of.

Steemit is like a never-ending series of rabbit holes that delight and amaze through every twist and turn of the tunnel.

No longer am I destined to spend my online time reading the latest troll spewing venom in all caps while ignoring spell checkers at will. With Steemit I can explore the latest offerings from creative minds from every corner of the globe. Original artwork, poetry, stories and personal experiences crowd my feed - a welcome change from the strident voices seeking to drown out the "others" rather than listening to a different point of view.

But perhaps the difference between Steemit and my other online haunts that I enjoy the most is the abundance of helping hands. So many so willing to help out a fellow poster, whether it's with suggestions to improve their formatting, explanations of the intricacies of the cryptocurrency market, or just encouragement for their efforts.

This - this is what the internet can be. Not a place of influence peddling, not a place overburdened with ads promising that you too will be able to make 6 figures a month if you just buy the course that will give you access to the magic button.

I can't express my joy at finding this corner of the net. And a huge thank you to all of you who contribute to Steemit and who have welcomed me into your midst.


Photo credit: pattie7459 on Visual Hunt / CC BY-NC

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now