RE: RE: I need some help with a programming task: use Python to grab a web page, and email it so the email can be read normally
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I need some help with a programming task: use Python to grab a web page, and email it so the email can be read normally

RE: I need some help with a programming task: use Python to grab a web page, and email it so the email can be read normally

Hey @libertyteeth I tried to googl some code but to me its not totally clear what u want to achieve, so I ask back some questions:

  • Why do u want to grab a full website? Are u not interested only in a small part of it or a text out of it. Theres gonna be lots of data garbage when u store snapshots of webpages.
  • Why do u want to email a full website to u/someone? Yes there is a good reason for email programs to not allow images/javascript/external links for security reasons. And a website in email doesnt seem comfortable to me to read/watch.

One way you could achieve ur project goal as i understand it in a bit other way is:

  • Download full website and with wget and archive it in a folder.
  • For searching u could use find or linux tools to search ur full archive.
  • If u want the archive available to others, rsync to a webdrive and share it.

Cheers J

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now