Success On Steemit - Is It Really All About Who I Know?

shutterstock_125357216edited.jpg
I'm the guy in the middle in search of that ladder

I have published almost ten posts now since arriving on this platform. The only post that organically attracted the most value was my introductory post which hit just over $5. The rest have so far paid out pretty absysmally. I am fast learning that networking is a really useful way of achieving more votes on posts. I also realise it isn't just about accruing votes. Making genuine connections with people who share similar interests or have identical perspectives is also a rewarding approach to take with Steemit.

However, with that said I see posts that attract $5 or $10 that are the most lazy form of post that offer no real value. Why is that? Well, to answer my own question I assume it's because the shitposter has made a valuable connection, and I mean valuable in the financial sense. Am I jealous? Absolutely.

However, I am also concerned by what really drives this platform. I had hoped that posting original and quality content would be at the heart of making me and Steemit a success, but I think I'm right in saying that it really is more about who you know than posting good quality posts. Which is a shame in many respects. I would have liked it to be the other way round, i.e posting quality content will get you a decent reward but networking will help bolster your success not actually determine your success.

I understand that there is auto voting and bot votes from whales, although I know that most vote bots have either shut down or if used on a post that post might well get flagged. I like the fact that the community has rid the platform of vote bots which I understand flooded the whole Steemit platform at one stage, I can see how that wasn't healthy for the eco-system. But I can also see that support for posts which might involve some kind of exchange of payment or exchange of favour is simply taking advantage of the innovative environment that I think Steemit prides itself on.

If you're that person in the image who has surmounted the wall and now stands on top of it smiling good for you. Whatever the deal is around here I hope I can work it out and generate more support and more serious rewards. If you stopped by to read as always thank you for your time, it's always appreciated.

RGgukq5E6HBS5wvERDA3ZF4P2WKQy2VoZZet1QV2Ndyg3igbsc8ViXZWF5ksP13Z5jeBRXdiZJm5cnuX9SEU9PayVh6T7NuTNEdHjypgJah4bh7cF21WPPsZ3JNuMzW.jpe


shutterstock_1123582217edited.jpg

Do you know where I can find one of these? No? Then let me help you with that.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center