If You Take the Time to Read Someone's Post Please Upvote It!

support-487504_960_720.jpg

So I've noticed recently that after HF-19 people are reading posts, even commenting about how they liked it, but not upvoting.
WTF? I get that people are concerned about voting power, but your seriously not going to upvote someone's post after reading their content and enjoying it?

In my mind that is almost like stealing on a platform like this. If you simply don't like the post, that's fine. Of course no one expects you to upvote a post you don't like. If you did like the post and even commented on it, then what are you thinking? Support the author!

If we all start succumbing to greed with our votes, then this platform is going to go down the tubes fast. Especially those of us who are taking the time to slowly produce quality content and build an audience. I had 4 or 5 people comment on my last post and not even upvote it. Ironically, they were all even smaller minnows than myself.

greed.jpg

Do you think I am going to have any incentive to follow you? Or upvote your stuff? Or upvote your comments? This is a community here and the general currency is that we support those who support us. Have you not noticed how the whales swim in their own private pool sipping champagne and high fiving each other's posts day in and day out?

My vote might not make you rich, but .50 or so is still worth something. If we actually support each other, well that .50 will be a $1, $5, etc. over time. This is how the platform works. I'm not suggesting that anyone run around and deplete their voting power to zero all the time, but at least upvote something that you read and actually enjoyed.

I can only speak for myself, but even if your vote counts for $0 I still appreciate your support in knowing that you liked my content and thought enough of it to show you support.

Thanks for listening

/end rant

P.S. If you want to read more about why holding back your votes isn't really worth it, check this out:
https://steemit.com/steemit/@wiser/when-it-comes-to-voting-strength-don-t-worry-be-happy

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center