Quick Tip: You Succeed When Your Followers Succeed - Why Steemit Is Different

The Zero-Sum Game Of Life: "Givers" vs. "Takers"

Most of the time, in the world we live in, when somebody wins another one loses. In fact I've noticed you can generally classify people as either "givers" or "takers". Some would even argue life is a zero-sum game, where for every person who wins something, then others must lose that exact amount.

I would say that for the most part this has been true. Of course as society has "evolved" and increased efficiency through say technology, the day to day life is better than it used to be for many. But don't kid yourself, the people that control things still have their control. They still "take" like they've always done, they just let you keep a little more so you don't complain about it (or revolt). This is true all over the world.

Why Steemit Is Different

Steemit is designed and supported to provide a completely different dynamic. Its a social network yes, but its also much much more. Everyone knows what everybody else is doing because its transparent, and this transparency enables so many "good things" to happen here every day.

There is a natural incentive to be "good" and provide good content (not just in posts, but also in the comments, resteeming, and upvoting processes). And also there's a punishment system which causes "bad" things to wither away too. Its a "virtuous circle system" or a virtuous perpetual loop.

Here's the secret formula so be sure to write it down ;)

Doing something good for someone = getting better = doing more good = getting even better ... repeat and repeat until you're a big gigantic whale!

To Succeed You Need Your Followers To Succeed

If you help your followers to succeed, then you will succeed. Its as simple as that.

While this seems like a "mushy rah-rah" slogan, its not. If you realize that your followers are the ones that cast their future upvotes on your posts and comments, and also send your articles soaring by resteeming, then making those "followers" strong only increases the "value" of their votes and the "power" of their resteems. It behooves you to see them get bigger.

(source: gstatic.com)

My Experience

I have been blown away at the number of friends I've made in my short 23 day life here in steemland. But even though I now have over 2100 followers, I sometimes don't get much in payouts because my followers are many many newbies (with little to no voting power). As an example, I got one vote yesterday from @surpassinggoogle that equaled a weeks worth of posts and comments I've made. But I don't care one bit and I'm certainly thankful to have so many "little" followers... in fact I'm happy to have so many connections because I know the "good" followers will eventually grow up. Its not about what you make today, its what you build for tomorrow. Always keep this perspective in your mind

And hint hint... here's a secret that I want EVERYONE to know: I'm going to help my followers to grow up because it helps them and it helps me (we both speed our path to success together). ;)

Use My Activity To Remind You

So when you see me helping others (and you will ;) ), I want you to think about this single post. And then I want you to remember that YOU TOO CAN DO THIS. You can encourage your followers to be better, you can give them tips (like how to use @originalworks or @resteemable). You can find new ways to work together or new ideas of increasing their power (like @bumper for those that pay attention). You can offer to help someone who doesn't understand, and you can also greet a newbie in #introduceyourself. You can do this, I know you can.

So if your goal is to succeed here, I've just given you a "Quick Tip" to help remind you of how to make that happen. Its not hard to do, plus its easy to understand the logic. Now its up to you, you alone determine your path in life. I hope to work with you and will do my best to help you grow too. After all...

I succeed when you succeed, so... how can I help you in the future? ;)

As always be humble and...

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center